Home » Lt. Gov. Jenean Hampton honors state’s volunteers with Governor’s Service Awards

Lt. Gov. Jenean Hampton honors state’s volunteers with Governor’s Service Awards

Lt. Gov. Jenean Hampton

FRANKFORT, Ky. (May 30, 2018) – Lt. Gov. Jenean Hampton and Executive Cabinet Secretary Scott Brinkman honored 15 individuals and four groups from across Kentucky for their volunteer and service contributions at the 23rd annual Governor’s Service Awards today.

The annual awards are coordinated by Serve Kentucky – formerly known as the Kentucky Commission on Community Volunteerism and Service. Serve Kentucky is part of the Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services (CHFS).

“These winners are truly the definition of ‘servant leadership,’” Lt. Gov. Hampton said. “Every day, they rise to the challenge of improving our Commonwealth, and Kentucky is much richer for the service of these volunteers. After learning about each honoree’s contributions to Kentucky, it’s impossible not to be inspired by their gifts to others. Showing our thanks today is just a small way to recognize the impact of their service. They are leading by example and encouraging others to fulfill great service.”

Secretary Brinkman noted that the award winners make a significant impact in their communities.

“From serving veterans to mentoring at-risk youth and helping adults coping with substance abuse, these volunteers are meeting needs at the local level,” Secretary Brinkman said. “They show that every one of us has the talent and time to do something good. For their wide-reaching contributions, they are Commonwealth’s shining stars.”

Serve Kentucky Executive Director Joe Bringardner said the Governor’s Office launched the volunteer awards program in 1975. Since 1995, Serve Kentucky has administered the program.

“Kentucky is rich with talented volunteers — those who dedicate themselves to helping others. This group represents the finest of that group. We are in awe of their worthy efforts to do whatever it takes to help our families, friends and neighbors.”

Bringardner noted that the Commission’s name change to Serve Kentucky reflects the agency’s focus.

“Putting ‘serve’ first in our name shows the priority of our partners, staff and the state’s hundreds of volunteers,” he said. “Our vision for promoting and supporting service and volunteerism hasn’t changed. In fact, we are more energized because of the positive feedback we’ve gotten about our new name.”

In addition to coordinating the Governor’s Service Awards, Serve Kentucky oversees an annual grant competition that awards funding to Kentucky AmeriCorps and other community service programs. Serve Kentucky also determines the state’s social needs, sets policy and program priorities, provides training and assistance, supports national days of service and promotes service and volunteering.

For more information about the Governor’s Service Awards, Kentucky’s AmeriCorps programs or volunteerism, call the KCCVS at 502-564-7420 or visit their website at www.chfs.ky.gov/ServeKY.

A list of honorees and their hometowns follows.

2018 Governor’s Service Award Recipients

  • Youth Volunteer Service Award
    • Madison Roy – Louisville, Jefferson County
    • Will Broomhead – Villa Hills, Kenton County
  • Volunteer Service Award
    • Alex Elswick – Lexington, Fayette County
    • Bryan Fallon – Louisville, Jefferson County
    • Callie Richeson – Murray, Calloway County
    • Regina Watkins – Shepherdsville, Bullitt County
  • Senior Volunteer Service Award
    • Charles Gary Stewart – Burlington, Boone County
  • Veteran Volunteer Service Award
    • Paul Temmermand – Lexington, Fayette County
  • National Service Award
    • Lonnie Turner – Paducah, McCracken County
    • Kaycee Gibson – Bowling Green, Warren County
  • National Service Alumni Award
    • Benji Hammons – London, Laurel County
  • Group Service Award
    • GleanKY – Lexington, Fayette County
    • CASA of Lexington – Lexington, Fayette County
    • Lindsey Wilson College Bonner Scholars Program – Columbia, Adair County
  • Business Service Award
    • Gearheart Communications – Harold, Floyd County
  • Lifetime Achievement Award – Active
    • Robert McCool – Richmond, Madison County
    • Lea Fischbach – Louisville, Jefferson County
  • Lifetime Achievement Award – Posthumous
    • Julian Bond – Frankfort, Franklin County
    • Troy Bowling – Lexington, Fayette County