Home » Senate Republicans elect leadership team

Senate Republicans elect leadership team

By Jacqueline Pitts, The Bottom Line

(L-R): Julie Raque Adams, Robert Stivers, Damon Thayer and Mike Wilson.

FRANKFORT, Ky. — In a meeting on Friday, the Senate Republican Caucus elected its leadership team for the 2019 session.

Leaders for the Republican supermajority in the state Senate will include:

  • Senate President
    Sen. Robert Stivers of Manchester
  • Senate Majority Floor Leader
    Sen. Damon Thayer of Georgetown
  • Senate President Pro Tem
    Sen. David Givens of Greensburg
  • Majority Caucus Chair
    Sen. Julie Raque Adams of Louisville
  • Majority Whip
    Sen. Mike Wilson of Bowling Green

Sen. Julie Raque Adams ran for the position of caucus chair this year and was victorious over Sen. Dan Seum who had been serving in the leadership role.

Sen. David Givens is returning to his position as President Pro Tem after stepping down in 2017 for family reasons. Sen. Jimmy Higdon had been serving in the role and stepped aside in this leadership election.