Senate Democrats elect new leadership team ahead of 2019 session

Morgan McGarvey

By Jacqueline Pitts, The Bottom Line

FRANKFORT, Ky. — Kentucky Senate Democrats held leadership elections on Wednesday to elect their leadership team for the 2019-20 biennium.

The leadership team for the Senate Democratic caucus will include:

Minority Floor Leader
Sen. Morgan McGarvey of Louisville

Minority Caucus Chair
Sen. Johnny Ray Turner of Prestonsburg

Minority Whip
Sen. Dennis Parrett of Elizabethtown

The newly-elected leadership team comes as former Minority Leader Ray Jones won his race for Pike County judge/executive and former state Sen. Dorsey Ridley, who served as minority caucus chair, lost his re-election race to GOP Rep. Robby Mills in the 2018 elections.

Sen. Parrett continues in his position as minority whip after being elected to the leadership role in 2017 to replace Sen. Julian Carroll.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment