Home » GLI board names new executive committee and board members

GLI board names new executive committee and board members

Mike Ash

LOUISVILLE, Ky. — Greater Louisville Inc. held its annual business meeting Tuesday, welcoming 16 new business and community leaders to serve on its board of directors and electing its 2019 executive committee.

Mike Ash, Regional President-Kentucky of Fifth Third Bank, was elected chairman of Greater Louisville, Inc. He succeeds Jim Allen, Chairman & CEO of Hilliard Lyons. Allen will continue to serve on GLI’s executive committee as immediate past chair. Lonnie Bellar, Chief Operating Officer of LG&E & KU Energy, was chosen to serve as chair-elect.

“GLI is fortunate to have such a deep, accomplished board from which to draw its leadership,” Allen said. “Every individual who serves on this board has a singular goal in mind – to make our community and our region even greater.”

The 2019 GLI executive committee members are:

  • Mike Ash (2019 Chair), Regional President-Kentucky, Fifth Third Bank
  • Jim Allen (Immediate Past Chair), Chairman & CEO, Hilliard Lyons
  • Lonnie Bellar (Chair-Elect), COO, LG&E & KU Energy LLC
  • Theresa Canaday (Secretary/Legal Counsel), Litigation Department Chair, Frost Brown Todd LLC
  • Russ Cox, President & CEO, Norton Healthcare
  • Tierra Kavanaugh Wayne, CEO, TKT & Associates
  • Charlie Scholtz, Vice President & Associate General Counsel, Brown-Forman Corp.
  • Evelyn Strange, President, AES Advanced Electrical Systems, Inc.
  • Purna Veer, President, V-Soft Consulting Group, Inc.
  • Jennifer Willis, North/Southeast Regional Vice President, Humana
  • David Wombwell (Treasurer), Market President, US Bank

The 12 new voting directors are:

  • Toni Clem, President & COO, Scoppechio
  • Steve Cunanan, Advisor, Kindred Healthcare Inc.
  • Tom Eller, Kentucky Region President, BB&T Corp.
  • Jonathan Goldberg, Managing Member, Goldberg & Simpson
  • Mariah Gratz, CEO, Weyland Ventures
  • Denise Jerome, CEO, Michaelis Events
  • Tierra Kavanaugh Wayne, CEO, TKT & Associates
  • Philip Poindexter, President, Stock Yards Bank & Trust
  • Camilla Schroeder, President, Advance Ready Mix Concrete
  • Scott Shoenberger, President & CEO, Al J. Schneider Co.
  • Glenn Sullivan, President, The Sullivan University System
  • John Waggoner, President & CEO, HMS Global Maritime

Additionally, four representative directors were selected:

  • Juva Barber, Executive Vice President, Building Industry Association of Greater Louisville
  • David Beck, President & CEO, Kentucky Venues
  • A. Dale Josey, Chair, Arts & Cultural Alliance (ACA)
  • Ferdinand Risco, Interim Executive Director, TARC

GLI also extended its employment agreement with President & CEO Kent Oyler for an additional year.

“Kent has done a great job bringing GLI to its current high-performance level, and this extension takes us well into 2020,” said Board Chairman Mike Ash.