Home » Foundation for a Healthy Kentucky names new endowed chair for Rural Health Policy at UK

Foundation for a Healthy Kentucky names new endowed chair for Rural Health Policy at UK

Matthew Bush

LOUISVILLE, Ky. — Matthew Bush, a Chandler Medical Center head and neck surgeon, has been named the Foundation for a Healthy Kentucky endowed chair for Rural Health Policy at the University of Kentucky. Dr. Bush’s research involves increasing access to specialty health care for vulnerable populations.

The Foundation’s endowed chair positions were established in 2001, at the Foundation’s inception. The chair in rural health policy is located at UK, while the urban health policy chair is located at the University of Louisville. The chair positions are jointly held by faculty located in each university’s School of Medicine and its College of Public Health. Among other duties, these endowed chairs work with the Foundation to coordinate and share research relevant to the Foundation’s mission and policy focus areas.

Bush is vice chair for research and an associate professor in the Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery, at the UK College of Medicine.  He also serves as a member of the Deaf and Hard of Hearing Work Group at the Kentucky Department of Education, the Kentucky Board of Speech Language Pathology and Audiology, and the Kentucky Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program Advisory Board. In addition, he is a member of the Medical Advisory Committee for the Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services Commission for Children with Special Healthcare Needs. And he is a founding affiliate of UK’s Center for Health Equity Transformation.

Bush earned his Ph.D. in Clinical and Translational Science at the University of Kentucky and his M.D. from Marshall University School of Medicine in Huntington, West Virginia. He is a fellow in the American College of Surgeons and the American Neurotology Society, and a member of the Kentucky Society of Otolaryngology.

Bush joins the Foundation’s additional endowed chairs, Ty Borders, Ph.D., UK Institute for Rural Health Policy, Department of Health Management and Policy, College of Public Health, UK; Christopher E. Johnson, Ph.D., Health Management and System Sciences, School of Public Health & Information Sciences, UofL; and Gilbert C. Liu, M.D., Department of Pediatrics, School of Medicine, UofL.