Home » Governor pays tribute to Kentuckians in the arts at public ceremony

Governor pays tribute to Kentuckians in the arts at public ceremony

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Oct. 9, 2012) — Gov. Steve Beshear presented awards today honoring Kentuckians in the arts who are recipients of the 2012 Governor’s Awards in the Arts. The awards are the state’s highest achievement in the arts, recognizing individuals, organizations and businesses that make extraordinary contributions to the arts in Kentucky.

“It is my privilege to give these awards today to a group of the state’s most exemplary citizens whose dedication to the arts honors the state’s fine artistic traditions and legacy and ensures the livelihood of the arts in the commonwealth for future generations,” Beshear said.

The honorees were recognized at a public ceremony and celebration in the Capitol Rotunda. The 2012 recipients are all Kentucky residents, businesses or organizations.

The 2012 award recipients are:

Milner Award – William G. Francis, Prestonsburg

National Award – Bobbie Ann Mason, Lawrenceburg

Artist Award – Gray Zeitz, Owenton

Business Award – UK HealthCare Arts in HealthCare Program, Lexington

Community Arts Award – Latitude Artist Community, Lexington

Education Award – Christina Hartke Towell, Morehead

Folk Heritage Award – Leona Waddell, Cecilia

Government Award – U.S. Rep. John Yarmuth, Louisville

Media Award – Jeffrey Lee Puckett, Louisville

The awards are coordinated by the Kentucky Arts Council. Nominations for the Governor’s Awards in the Arts are accepted annually from the public. The deadline to make a nomination for the 2013 awards is Nov. 1.

“I congratulate this year’s award recipients and thank them for their lifelong dedication to the arts in Kentucky,” said Lori Meadows, arts council executive director. “The individuals, organizations and businesses honored today serve as a model of excellence for their peers in the arts.”

The program honoring Kentuckians in the arts will be broadcast on Kentucky Educational Television (KET) at the following times:

9 p.m. Oct. 17, KET2

9 p.m. Oct. 19, KET KY

2 p.m. Oct. 20, KET KY

3 p.m. Oct. 21, KET

8 p.m. Oct. 21, KET KY