Home » Lexington Habitat For Humanity announces new board chair, board members

Lexington Habitat For Humanity announces new board chair, board members

LEXINGTON, Ky. – Parashar Joshi has been named the new chair of Lexington Habitat for Humanity’s board of directors. Joshi receives the reins from Marlene Helm who continues to serve as an executive committee member after completing her term as chair. Lexington Habitat also welcomes four new board members; Brooke Hanson, Kristy Maggard, Kyle Wicker and Ryan Worthen.

Joshi is the vice president of operations and supply chain at Valvoline, where he’s served since 2013. Prior to joining Valvoline, he spent 15 years with Ashland Inc. where he was chairman of the American Foundry Society and the recipient of the President’s Award four times. Joshi has a bachelor’s degree in chemical engineering from the University of Cincinnati, an MBA in finance and operations management from Cleveland State University, and is also a Certified Six Sigma Black Belt. Joshi has been a dedicated Lexington Habitat Board Member since 2015.

Brooke Hansen is director of operations of a Chick-Fil-A franchise where she has served for over 10 years. Hansen is a Bluegrass Community and Technical College alumna, has earned a Lean Systems Certification from the UK College of Engineering Lean Systems program and is currently furthering her education at EKU. She also volunteers with the Lexington Leadership Foundation. Hansen has served as a Lexington Habitat Ambassador since 2018 and leads the annual Cookies for a Cause campaign benefitting LHFH, which has raised over $50,000 to date.

Kristy Maggard has 20 years of experience in marketing/advertising, events, public relations, television and radio. She has worked for both Fortune 500 companies and nonprofits in Lexington. In January 2019, Maggard started her own marketing firm with the creation of Maggard Marketing Group. She specializes in helping local, small businesses with their social media, marketing, promotions and events. She holds a bachelor’s degree in graphic design and photography from UK.

Ryan Worthen is the director of marketing and communications at Kentucky Employer’s Mutual Insurance (KEMI) where he has served since 2002. He is also an entrepreneur and owns several businesses. Worthen currently serves as president-elect of the Thoroughbred Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America and serves on the board of directors for YMCA of Central. He has a bachelor’s degree in business management from Asbury University.

Kyle Wicker is a business development manager with Republic Bank, specializing in commercial lending. He has a bachelor’s degree in public relations from EKU and is currently working on his MBA. Prior to his time with Republic, he worked for Fifth Third and JP Morgan Chase.

Lexington Habitat’s board is responsible for establishing policy and guiding the organization’s efforts to build or improve affordable housing in partnership with families across Fayette County, Ky.

“Our board of directors is comprised of dedicated community leaders committed to building strength, stability and self-reliance through shelter,” said Rachel Smith Childress, Lexington Habitat CEO. “I am thrilled that Parashar is stepping up to chair, building on his longstanding service with Lexington Habitat, and that Brooke, Kristy, Ryan and Kyle will be joining us. I am confident that their breadth of expertise and talents will ensure that Lexington Habitat is in a strong position to continue advancing our mission. We are honored to have their leadership.”

Other 2021 appointments include Chris Crumrine to vice chair, Brandi Peacher to secretary and McKay Moore to treasurer.

The 2021 Lexington Habitat for Humanity Board of Directors are: Chair, Parashar Joshi (Valvoline); Vice Chair, Chris Crumrine (University of Kentucky); Secretary, Brandi Peacher (LFUCG); Treasurer, McKay Moore (LRC Real Estate); At Large, Rachel Smith Childress (LHFH); At Large, Marlene Helm (Consultant); Janet Beard (WesBanco Bank, Inc.); Bishop E. Carter III (Bethsaida Baptist Church); Chris Farris (Billings Law Firm); Brooke Hansen (Chick-fil-A); Rob Lawson (Thrivent); Shayla Lynch (Ampersand Sexual Violence Resource Center); Kristy Maggard (Maggard Marketing Group); Veronica Thacker (Transylvania University); Chad Tussey (Lexington Oriental Rugs, Relic); Kyle Wicker (Republic Bank); Ryan Worthen (KEMI); Emeriti, Lyle Hanna (Hanna Resource Group); and Emeriti, Dennis Pike Jr. (Pike & Preston).