Home » Leadership KY to present Flame of Excellence Award to Porter Peeples, Sr.

Leadership KY to present Flame of Excellence Award to Porter Peeples, Sr.

Porter G. Peeples, Sr.

LEXINGTON, Ky. — Leadership Kentucky, one of the first and most prestigious statewide leadership development programs in the United States, will hold its 20th Annual Alumni Luncheon in Lexington at Central Bank Center on January 6, 2022, where the Flame of Excellence Award will be presented to Porter G. Peeples, Sr.

The Flame of Excellence Award honors an outstanding Kentuckian who bravely lights the way for others.

Porter G. Peeples, Sr. is a native of Lynch, Kentucky where he attended high school and graduated in 1964. He attended Southeast Community College in Cumberland, Kentucky where he earned an Associate Degree in Education in 1966. He then enrolled at the University of Kentucky where he graduated with a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Elementary and Special Education in 1968. Peeples has also completed graduate work at Eastern Kentucky University and received an honorary Doctorate from Lindsey Wilson College. Before becoming Education Director of the Urban League of Lexington-Fayette County, Peeples was a teacher in Fayette County.

Peeples became CEO of the Urban League of Lexington-Fayette County in 1972. Under his leadership, the Urban League of Lexington-Fayette County has made its mark by expanding to provide job training, housing, computer, technology, and educational programs. The Urban League of Lexington-Fayette County has also gained a reputation for its intervention and advocacy on behalf of its constituent base.

Peeples continues his dedication to the Lexington community through his active participation on

numerous local and national boards. His work has also led him to numerous various awards for his dedication to his community.

Past Leadership Kentucky Flame of Excellence Recipients:

2002 – Dr. Thomas D. Clark, Kentucky Historian Emeritus

2003 – Edward T. “Ned” Breathitt, Former Governor

2004 – John R. Hall, Retired Chairman/CEO, Ashland Inc.

2005 – Martha Layne Collins, Former Governor; Chair/CEO Kentucky World Trade Center

2006 – Wendell H. Ford, U.S. Senate, Retired; Wendell H. Ford Government Education Center

2007 – Albert P. Smith, Jr., Retired Host of “Comment on Kentucky”

2008 – David A. Jones, Founder & Former Board Chairman, Humana, Inc.

2009 – Eula Hall, Founder, Mud Creek Clinic

2010 – Owsley Brown Frazier, Founder & Chairman, Frazier International History Museum

2011 – Dr. T. Pearse Lyons, Founder & CEO, Alltech

2012 – William T. Samuels, Jr., Chairman Emeritus, Maker’s Mark Distillery, Inc.

2013 – Dr. Lee T. Todd, Jr., Past President, University of Kentucky

2014 – Bill Goodman, former Host, KET

2015 – John A. Williams, Sr., Computer Services, Inc.

2016 – Helen Carroll, Toyota, retired

2017 – William (Bill) Jones, U.S. Bank

2018 – David Adkisson, Kentucky Chamber of Commerce, retired

2019 – Myra Ball, Ball Homes and Donamire Farm

2020 – Alice and Wade Houston, HJI Supply Chain Solutions

Click here for more Kentucky business news.