Home » Stivers elected Kentucky Senate president

Stivers elected Kentucky Senate president

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Nov. 28, 2012) — Sen. Robert Stivers, who had been Senate majority leader for three years, was elected Tuesday as president of the Kentucky Senate. The Manchester attorney replaces longtime president David Williams, who recently was appointed to a judgeship in his district by Gov. Steve Beshear.

SEE RELATED: Williams appointed to judgeship

SEE RELATED:  Dec. 18 election set to fill Williams’ vacant Senate seat

Sen. Katie Kratz Stine of Southgate was re-elected Senate President Pro Tem. Stivers was challenged for the office by Sen. Bob Leeper, I-Paducah. while Stine had no opposition. Both must still be elected by the full 38-member Senate when the General Assembly convenes in January for a short session.

Sen. Damon Thayer was elected the new Senate majority leader. Sen. David Green of Greensburg also ran for the office.

Sen. Brandon Smith of Hazard was elected majority whip, and Sen. Dan Seum of Louisville will remain Senate GOP caucus chairman.

The election likely will alter some of the GOP’s committee chairman assignments.