Home » Community Foundation of Louisville announces 22nd annual Vogt Award recipients

Community Foundation of Louisville announces 22nd annual Vogt Award recipients

LOUISVILLE, Ky. — The Community Foundation of Louisville announced the recipients of its 22nd annual Vogt Invention and Innovation Awards. These six early-stage companies will receive $25,000 in non-dilutive grant funding, participation in a 10-week accelerator program, startup coaching, mentorship from industry veterans, strategic introductions and recognition, all designed to boost their growth and take their businesses to the next level. This unique program allows founders to retain full ownership of their businesses.

The Vogt Awards will culminate with Demo Day on Thursday, Oct. 13, at 5 p.m. at The Speed Art Museum, where the founders will present their company pitches to the startup and investor community.

The recipients are:

  • Arrow Health, a defined contribution (fixed budget) insurance product that allows small businesses to provide their employees’ health insurance at a fraction of the cost of a traditional group health insurance plan. Founders are Erik Anderson and Waleed Bahouth.
  • C2 Keep, a hub for controlled substances inventory management and compliance. Founder is Roland Achenjang.
  • LimitLess, a tech-based, on-demand delivery app allowing consumers to order fresh produce, groceries, food delivery and more. Founder is TaMeka Bland.
  • Melanated Healthcare, a multidisciplinary, digital health platform that connects Black patients and other people of color to culturally congruent health professionals. Founder is Lecresha Sewell.
  • TitleWise, a powerful, web-based tool for creating digital reports and databases specifically designed for real estate title abstractors. Founders are Chris Mason and Jennifer Mason.
  •  Xena Intelligence, an AI-powered, e-commerce platform that uses data intelligence to automate and optimize e-commerce growth on Amazon and Walmart. Founder is Akhil Suresh Nair.

The Vogt Awards are funded by the Vogt Invention and Innovation Fund at the Community Foundation, an endowment established in 1999 thanks to the generosity of businessman and philanthropist Henry Vogt Heuser Sr. The Fund’s purpose is to strengthen Louisville’s economic health by supporting innovative startups and inspiring entrepreneurship. The Fund’s originating $5 million principal is still intact after providing non-dilutive grants to 102 startup companies totaling more than $3.8 million, with 38% of those funds going to women or founders of color.

Awardees were carefully chosen by a selection committee made up of leading entrepreneurs and investors in the startup community and past Vogt Award recipients. The committee was led by Chair Monique Quarterman, Deputy Executive Director of Kentucky Innovation at the Kentucky Cabinet for Economic Development.Committee members were:

  • Buddy Bockweg, Vsimple
  • Michael Boone, yLoft
  • Tendai Charasika, Saling Wealth Advisors/UofL Entrepreneur-in-Residence
  • Demetrius Gray, Captain
  • Lydia Henshaw, Resolv
  • Angelique Johnson, MEMStim
  • Raffi Kayat, Borderless
  • Greg Langdon, startup advisor and investor
  • Christian Miller, Venture First
  • Jake Miller, Toggle Health
  • Brett Moreno, Anteriad
  • Steven Plappert, Forecastr
  • Mario Mazzone, KSTC-Keyhorse Capital
  • Chris Redd, Baptist Health/Network ‘N Chill
  • Alice Shade, 4 A Ventures/UofL Entrepreneur-in-Residence
  • Telpriore “Greg” Tucker, UofL Research & Innovation
  • Phoebe Wood, CompaniesWood

This year’s recipients represent the program’s first majority-minority cohort — 83% are minority/founders of color and 50% are women-founded.For more information about the Vogt Awards program, click here. Demo Day is free and open to the public, but space is limited. To register, click here.

Click here for more Kentucky business news.