Home » Church complex at Fancy Farm, 9 other sites approved for listing on National Register of Historic Places

Church complex at Fancy Farm, 9 other sites approved for listing on National Register of Historic Places

National Park Service will make final determination

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Sept. 26, 2013) — Ten nominations to the National Register of Historic Places, including the St. Jerome’s Catholic Church Complex at Fancy Farm and Churchill Weavers in Berea, were approved Wednesday for National Register listing by the Kentucky Historic Preservation Review Board in Frankfort.

St. Jerome Catholic Church at Fancy Farm
St. Jerome’s Catholic Church Complex at Fancy Farm

Also approved were: the James William Kite Store in Waterloo, in Boone County; the Goodall Building in Danville; the Southeast Greyhound Line Building (LexTran) in Lexington; the Brown-Henry House and Point Pleasant in Frankfort, and Bridgeport School in Franklin County; the Hiram and Art Stamper House in Knott County; and Norfolk Farm Tenant Log House in Trimble County.

The Kentucky Heritage Council/State Historic Preservation Office administers the National Register program in Kentucky. The agency provides administrative support to the review board, which is charged with evaluating National Register nominations prior to their submission to the National Park Service (NPS). The NPS will issue a final determination of listing within about 60 days.

The National Register is the nation’s official list of historic and archaeological resources deemed worthy of preservation. Kentucky has the fourth-highest number of listings among states, at nearly 3,300. Listing can be applied to buildings, objects, structures, districts and archaeological sites, and proposed sites must be significant in architecture, engineering, American history or culture.

National Register status does not affect property ownership rights, but does provide a measure of protection against adverse impacts from federally funded projects. Owners of National Register properties may qualify for federal or state tax credits for certified rehabilitation of these properties, or by making a charitable contribution of a preservation easement. For more, see www.heritage.ky.gov.

A meeting agenda and complete nominations with photos are available at www.heritage.ky.gov/natreg/.

Nominations approved by NPS

Several nominations have been approved for National Register listing by the NPS since the last review board meeting in May. These are:

Daviess County: Thomas Krahwinkel Farmhouse

Franklin County: South Frankfort Neighborhood District and Knight-Taylor-Hockensmith House

Jefferson County: Leslie V. Abbott House, Breslin Building, Filson Club, Edward Kurfee’s Paint Company and University of Louisville Library

Kenton County: Lincoln-Grant School

McCracken County: Coca-Cola Bottling Plant

Rockcastle County: Great Saltpetre Cave

Scott County: Sadieville Historic District

Wayne County: Wayne County High School

Wolfe County: Wolfe County High School