Home » More than $10 million goes to Kentucky storm survivors

More than $10 million goes to Kentucky storm survivors

FRANKFORT, Ky. (March 30) – Federal disaster responders have approved more than $10.1 million for survivors of the recent severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding occurring Feb. 29 – March 2, 2012.

“The swift and full support from our local and federal emergency response partners has helped thousands of our families begin a successful recovery from these storms and tornadoes,” said Governor Steve Beshear. “As we move into long-term recovery efforts, we will continue to make sure our communities and families have the resources they need to rebuild their homes and their lives.”

To date:

  • Nearly 4,800 storm survivors in 21 designated counties have contacted FEMA for help or information regarding disaster assistance. Many people have sought housing assistance from FEMA because their primary residence was damaged or destroyed.
  • More than $5.7 million has been approved for housing assistance, including short-term rental assistance and home repair costs.
  • More than 2,200 homes sustained damages. Of those, more than 650 were destroyed.
  • Nearly 1,300 households have received FEMA grants to help pay for temporary housing.
  • Nearly 2,700 inspections of damaged properties have been conducted.
  • Nearly $3 million in low-interest disaster loans has been approved by the Small Business Administration.
  • More than $1.4 million has been approved to cover other essential disaster-related needs, such as medical and dental expenses and lost personal possessions.

The 14 counties in Kentucky currently eligible for Public Assistance are Ballard, Grant, Johnson, Kenton, Larue, Laurel, Lawrence, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, Morgan, Pendleton, Trimble and Wolfe.  Public Assistance is available to local governments on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of damaged infrastructure, such as roads, bridges, utilities, schools and similar facilities.

The 21 counties in Kentucky currently eligible for Individual Assistance are Bath, Campbell, Carroll, Grant, Grayson, Johnson, Kenton, Larue, Laurel, Lawrence, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Ohio, Pendleton, Rowan, Russell, Trimble and Wolfe. Individual Assistance for homeowners and renters can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs.

Kentucky Emergency Management and the Federal Emergency Management Agency have begun a “Tell Your Neighbor” campaign and are asking all Kentucky survivors to tell their friends, family and neighbors to register with FEMA, even if they are reluctant to do so. An important aspect of the campaign is to return Small Business Administration applications for a low-interest disaster loan. No survivor is required to accept a loan, but they must return a completed application to be considered for additional FEMA assistance.

Disaster recovery centers in Johnson, Kenton, Laurel, Lawrence, Martin, Menifee and Pendleton will close permanently at 6 p.m., Saturday, March 31. Help is still available by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362). Additionally, centers remain open in Morgan and Magoffin counties.

There are three ways to register with FEMA for help or information regarding disaster assistance: call 800-621-FEMA (3362), register online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov, or register using a tablet or Smartphone by visitingm.fema.gov. Help is available in many languages.

Disaster applicants who use TTY should call 800-462-7585. Those who use 711 or Video Relay Service should call800-621-3362. Lines are open 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. local time, every day.

KYEM urges anyone who has storm damage to their residence or other property to document the damage by photographing or videoing it, if possible, and maintain a list of any repairs and keep repair receipts. Report the damage and location to your county emergency manager. Survivors must still register with FEMA to be considered for federal disaster assistance.

Free crisis counseling, supported by a grant from FEMA, is available to Kentuckians who suffer from stress, anxiety or depression as a result of the recent storms and flooding. If you live in Johnson, Magoffin, or Martin County call 800-422-1060; residents of Bath, Lawrence, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Rowan, or Wolfe counties call 800-562-8909; citizens in Campbell, Carroll, Grant, Kenton, or Pendleton County call 859-331-3292; and in Laurel County, call 888-640-9335.

KYEM facilitated an arrangement between the Kentucky Department of Public Health, No Kill Louisville and United Parcel Service to deliver 35,000 pounds of pet food to two locations in the hard-hit eastern Kentucky counties. The donated pet food will be disbursed to local shelters where animal populations have increased and supplies are low since the tornadoes.

Commonwealth residents can help better protect themselves and their loved ones from tornadoes and storms by having weather radios in their home. Weather radios broadcast warnings whenever potentially life-threatening weather events are occurring or imminent.

More disaster-specific information can be found on the Kentucky Emergency Management website atwww.kyem.ky.gov.