Home » Mayor Jim Gray elected for second term in Lexington

Mayor Jim Gray elected for second term in Lexington

Defeated former Lexington police chief Anthany Beatty

LEXINGTON, Ky. (Nov. 5, 2014) — Mayor Jim Gray became the first Lexington mayor in 16 years to win a second term when he easily beat opponent Anthany Beatty Tuesday.

Mayor Jim Gray
Mayor Jim Gray

Gray received 65 percent of the vote, while Beatty, a former Lexington police chief a first-time candidate, received 35 percent. The winning margin is reportedly one of the largest in history in a November general election mayoral race.

“There’s no greater honor in our democracy than a vote of public trust,” Gray told his supporters after the victory. “Yes, there is a lot more to do. We will keep looking for efficiencies.”

During a concession speech at the Beaumont Centre Clubhouse, Beatty thanked all of his supporters, including his wife, Eunice Beatty.

“We lost the race, but we won in terms of what we have done and what we have accomplished and the level of enlightenment that we brought to the Lexington community,” Anthany Beatty said.

Also a result of Tuesday’s elections, Lexington-Fayette Urban County Council will have four fresh faces among it–12 members and one former member returning after a decade absence. Four incumbents— Chris Ford in District 1, Bill Farmer Jr. in District 5, Peggy Henson in District 11 and Ed Lane in District 12—were re-elected to two-year terms without opposition.

Two incumbent council members lost. Susan Lamb unseated incumbent Julian Beard in District 4; and Amanda Mays Bledsoe unseated incumbent Harry Clarke in District 10. Additionally, three-term at-large council member Chuck Ellinger Jr., who was term limited from running again for a countywide at-large seat, lost to J. “Jake” Gibbs, who will be a newcomer.

Joining Lamb, Bledsoe and Gibbs as newcomers will be Angela Evans, who defeated Thomas Hern in District 6.

Fred V. Brown, who dropped off the council in 2004 after a decade of service, defeated LeTonia A. Jones in District 8.

Incumbent Shevawn Akers was re-elected to the 2nd District seat with a close win over challenger Michael Stuar.

Incumbent Jennifer Mossotti was re-elected to the 9th District seat over Victoria Fath. Incumbent Jennifer Scutchfield was re-elected in the 7th District, edging opponent Michael Moynahan.

The council’s three at-large seats were won by familiar faces. Steve Kay was the top vote-getter and thus becomes vice mayor for the next four years. Kevin Stinnett, who has served as District 6 member, won a four-year term an at-large member, as did Richard Maloney, a former council member and a city administrator.

Popular Stories