Home » Mayor Fischer re-elected in Louisville; council maintains 17-9 Democratic majority

Mayor Fischer re-elected in Louisville; council maintains 17-9 Democratic majority

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (Nov. 5, 2014) — Greg Fischer won easy re-election Tuesday to a second, four-year term as Louisville’s metro mayor. Fischer, a Democrat, defeated Republican Bob DeVore, a UPS worker who ran a limited campaign, by a 2-to-1 margin.

Louisville Metro Mayor Greg Fischer
Louisville Metro Mayor Greg Fischer

Fischer was narrowly elected in 2010 over Republican Hal Heiner and has focused on improving the local economy; his city administration has avoided tax increases and layoffs.

The Metro Council, which is elected on a partisan basis, will retain its 17-9 Democratic majority.

Former attorney Bill Hollander won the District 9 seat, left open with the retirement of fellow Democrat Tina Ward-Pugh. Angela Leet, owner of construction management and property development companies, kept the District 7 seat in Republican hands. She will replace Ken Fleming, who did not run for another term. Both Hollander and Leet are first-time candidates.

The council will have two other new members. In District 1, Jessica Green defeated Councilwoman Attica Scott in the Democratic primary and had no opponent Tuesday. State Sen. Julie Carman Denton, a Republican, ran unopposed for the District 19 seat.

Councilman Kevin Kramer, chairman of the Republican caucus, defeated Democrat Larry Hujo, a labor leader and former three-term member of the Jefferson County Board of Education, in District 11.

Incumbent Democrats Cheri Bryant Hamilton and Dan Johnson won re-election in the 5th and 21st Districts, respectively. Republican Glen Stuckel won another term in the 17th, defeating Susan Johns, who served terms in the state Senate and House of Representatives.

The new members join the council in January.

Councilwomen Mary Woolridge and Marianne Butler easily won their Democratic primaries and did not have opposition Tuesday. Council members Vicki Aubrey Welch, James Peden, and David Yates did not have any opposition.