Home » Department of Criminal Justice graduates 25 officers from basic training

Department of Criminal Justice graduates 25 officers from basic training

Officers completed 18 weeks of training

RICHMOND, Ky. (Dec. 5, 2014) — The Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training graduated 25 officers from basic training today at Eastern Kentucky University. The officers represented 16 agencies.

Basic Photo_460Class 460 completed 18 weeks of training, which consisted of nearly 770 hours of recruit-level-officer academy instruction. Major training areas included homeland security, law offenses and procedures, vehicle operations, firearms, investigations, first aid/CPR, patrol procedures, orientation for new law enforcement families and mechanics of arrest, restraint and control.

Basic training is mandatory for Kentucky law enforcement officers who are required to comply with the state’s Peace Officer Professional Standards Act of 1998. The Department of Criminal Justice Training provides basic training for city and county police officers, sheriffs’ deputies, university police, airport police and others.

The agency also provides in-service and leadership training for Kentucky law enforcement officers and public safety dispatch training.

The Department of Criminal Justice Training is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University’s campus. The agency is the first in the nation to be accredited under the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies’ public safety training program designation. DOCJT also earned accredited through the International Association for Continuing Education and Training in 2013—making it the nation’s only law enforcement training academy to achieve dual accreditation by two independent accrediting organizations.

Class 460 graduates are:

  • Austin G. Avery, Brownsville Police Department
  • Joshua Berry, Elkton Police Department
  • Colton S. Billhartz, Bowling Green Police Department
  • Brad W. Bond, Commercial Vehicle Enforcement
  • Dwight C. Bushong, Bowling Green Police Department
  • Corey J. Cecil, Richmond Police Department
  • Kody A. Cloud, Harrodsburg Police Department
  • Sara M. Damron, Jenkins Police Department
  • Alexis C. Day, Elsmere Police Department
  • Stefon D. Douglas, Morganfield Police Department
  • Brandon M. Durham, Commercial Vehicle Enforcement
  • Casey R. Foster, Ohio County Sheriff’s Office
  • Vincent S. Hazelwood, Commercial Vehicle Enforcement
  • Neil P. Higgins, University of Louisville Police Department
  • Joshua H. James, Commercial Vehicle Enforcement
  • Brian A. Klotz, University of Louisville Police Department
  • Richard L. Lynch, Commercial Vehicle Enforcement
  • Christopher G. McQueen, Commercial Vehicle Enforcement
  • Terry K. Perkins, Bullitt County Sheriff’s Office
  • John W. Preston, II, Jessamine County Sheriff’s Office
  • David E. Rowe, Whitley County Sheriff’s Office
  • Jacob A. Samad, Florence Police Department
  • James B. Snyder, Commercial Vehicle Enforcement
  • Matthew A. Todd,  McLean County Sheriff’s Office
  • Victor M. Vergara, Bowling Green Police Department