Home » Attorneys in 10 more counties can now file cases electronically

Attorneys in 10 more counties can now file cases electronically

82 of 120 counties offer e-Filing

FRANKFORT, Ky., (June 19, 2015) — Attorneys with court cases in Bracken, Carroll, Fleming, Grant, Harrison, Mason, Nicholas, Owen, Pendleton and Robertson counties can now file them electronically, according to the Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC). Cases can now be filed electronically in 82 counties.

courtsSince the start of eFiling in December 2013, 700 attorneys and other users have filed more than 25,000 documents electronically. AOC plans to have the program available in all 120 Kentucky counties by the end of 2015.

“eFiling is ushering in an important new era for the Kentucky justice system,” Chief Justice of Kentucky John D. Minton Jr. said. “Gone will be the days of attorneys on deadline rushing to file a motion before the courthouse closes. Now they can take care of business for their clients anywhere and anytime.”

eFiling is part of the Judicial Branch’s comprehensive, multiyear eCourt program. The goal is to update Kentucky’s aging court technology to meet the demands on the court system and enable the courts to stay current with the mainstream of law and commerce. The eCourt program will also upgrade the court system’s technology infrastructure (hardware and software), replace its case management systems for the trial and appellate courts, and acquire a document management system that will electronically store and index court documents.