Home » Governor’s Scholars Program announces 2015 class

Governor’s Scholars Program announces 2015 class

Five selected from Eastern Kentucky

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Sept. 3, 2015) — The Governor’s Scholars Program (GSP) announced its fourth class of American Electric Power (AEP) Foundation Governor’s Scholars. The AEP Foundation Scholars are sponsored through a generous commitment to the GSP. Five scholars are selected for each sponsored year of the Governor’s Scholars Program.

image001The objective of the AEP Foundation Scholars, through the financial assistance of the American Electric Power Foundation, is to support and then recognize five Governor’s Scholars each year from the twenty counties that comprise AEP’s service region. These talented scholars are among Eastern Kentucky’s finest and they are becoming the educators, physicians, scientists, business leaders, and civic leadership for the region.

2015 Scholars are:

  • Sydney Blanton, Magoffin County High School, Salyersville
  • Halley Burge, West Carter High School, Olive Hill
  • Michael Hamilton, Johnson Central High School, Wittensville
  • Graham Lewis, Morgan County High School, West Liberty
  • Ali Wilt, Russell High School, Flatwoods

The Governor’s Scholars Program is an inspirational, five-week, residential summer experience for outstanding high school students in Kentucky who have completed the junior year and are rising seniors. The mission of the GSP is to enhance Kentucky’s next generation of civic and economic leadership. Established in 1983, the focus of the GSP is not limited to augmenting intellectual development, but also upon the students’ potential to have an impact at the local, state, national, and global levels. The experience is intellectually stimulating, promotes self-development and leadership, and fosters a passion for community involvement.

Funded by a combination of public/state and private monies, the program is cost free to the scholars.