Home » Nine new members to be inducted into Kentucky Journalism Hall of Fame

Nine new members to be inducted into Kentucky Journalism Hall of Fame

LEXINGTON, Ky. (March 31, 2016) — A Louisville native who won a Pulitzer Prize while working for the Wall Street Journal heads the 2016 class of inductees for the Kentucky Journalism Hall of Fame.

Angelo B. Henderson, a 1985 graduate of the University of Kentucky who died in 2014 of a pulmonary embolism, will be inducted posthumously with eight other journalists on April 19, 2016. Henderson won a 1999 Pulitzer for his story about a Detroit druggist who killed an armed robber.

Other journalists who will be inducted:

Jim Bolus wrote six books on the Kentucky Derby and co-wrote another. He worked with Hall of Famer Billy Reed on a series of investigative stories for The Courier-Journal and The Louisville Times on the horse racing industry, winning Sigma Delta Chi and National Headliners awards. He was a 1966 graduate of the University of Louisville. Bolus died in 1997.

Tom Eblen is a columnist for the Lexington Herald-Leader and served as its managing editor for 10 years. A native of Lexington, he is a graduate of Western Kentucky University. He was a reporter for the Associated Press in Tennessee and at the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, leading a team that covered a riot of Cuban detainees. The team’s work was a finalist for a Pulitzer Prize.

Mike Edgerly is a native of Owensboro, Kentucky, and attended Murray State University. He worked at Kentucky stations in Murray, Mayfield, Paducah, Frankfort and Louisville. Today he is executive editor of Minnesota Public Radio, directing a staff of 75. He was lead editor on a 2014 documentary about the mishandling of sexual abuse by the Roman Catholic Church.

Tony Lococo launched a number of journalism careers as adviser to the student newspaper for 31 years and as adviser to the yearbook for 26 years at Trinity High School in Louisville. He guided both publications to many awards. He is a graduate of Morehead State University and was named teacher of the year by the Archdiocese of Louisville in 1986 and Greater Louisville High School Press Association Adviser of the Year in 1993.

Bill Straub was the Frankfort bureau chief of the Kentucky Post for 11 years. A graduate of the University of Kentucky, he worked at newspapers in Corbin and Paris before becoming editor of the Georgetown News and Times. Joining the Post in 1979, he did groundbreaking reporting on the Beverly Hills Supper Club fire and trial. He became the Washington correspondent for the Kentucky and Cincinnati Posts in 1994, then White House and political correspondent for Scripps Howard News Service. Today he writes a political column for KyForward.com and the NKYTribune.com.

Chuck and Donna Stinnett were business editor and features editor, respectively, at The Gleaner in Henderson, Kentucky. They also were active in civic life and were named Distinguished Citizens of the Year in 2015. They won the William R. Burleigh Award for Community Service from the Scripps Howard Foundation and the Lewis Owens Award for Community Service from the Kentucky Press Association and the Lexington Herald-Leader. They met at Western Kentucky University, their alma mater.

Don White was editor of the Anderson News in Lawrenceburg, Kentucky, from 1978 until his retirement in 2006. After the newspaper began publishing photos of convicted drunken drivers, DUIs declined 37 percent from 1999 to 2000, and the National Commission Against Drunk Driving gave him an award. He is author of “Paper Boy: Giving My Heart to Journalism,” published in 2015.

These inductees will bring membership in the hall to 211. The UK Journalism Alumni Association founded the hall in 1980. The hall welcomes nominations at its website, https://ci.uky.edu/jat/kyhalloffame, at any time, but the deadline for consideration in a year is the first Friday in January. The names of those inducted are available at the website.

The class of 2016 will be honored at a noon lunch on Tuesday, April 19, at The Grand Reserve, 903 Manchester St., #190, in Lexington. Cost is $35 per person. Reservations should be made online at www.ukalumni.net/journalismhalloffame.