Home » Louisville Small Business Development Center wins prestigious award

Louisville Small Business Development Center wins prestigious award

Selection based on contributions to entrepreneurs, small business community

2016 State Star Award winners, the Louisville SBDC team, (L-R) Janet Flaugh, Vallorie Henderson, Toni Sears and David Oetken. (Kentucky Small Business Development Center)

LEXINGTON, Ky., (July 5, 2016) – The Kentucky Small Business Development Center announced that the Louisville Small Business Development Center is the recipient of the 2016 Sutton Landry State Star for Kentucky. The Louisville staff will be recognized at a private reception during the America’s Small Business Development Center conference in Orlando, Florida.

The America’s SBDC Network is a partnership uniting private enterprise, government agencies, higher education institutions and local nonprofit economic development organizations in an effort to provide support to small business. Each year, the network honors a star from every state. Selection is based upon examples of excellence and important contributions to entrepreneurs and the small business community.

“The Sutton Landry State Star is an honor recognizing outstanding performance and commitment in serving Kentucky’s small businesses and the KSBDC network. The Louisville SBDC is a shining example of success, commitment and innovation. The center’s staff works incredibly hard for their clients; they make us very proud,” said Becky Naugle, state director.

The Louisville center has been a part of the Kentucky Small Business Development Center network since 1982. The team consists of center director David Oetken; Toni Sears, assistant director; Vallorie Henderson, management consultant; and Janet Flaugh, communications coordinator. Over the years, the Louisville office has been noted for extraordinary work, receiving statewide recognition for performance and success. The center assists businesses with one-on-one consultations at no cost to existing and potential entrepreneurs in Bullitt, Carroll, Henry, Jefferson, Oldham, Owen, Shelby, Spencer and Trimble counties, providing vital training, educational programs, and assistance locating funding sources.