Home » State: Residents of Copeland, Duck Hollow, River Caney to receive access to potable water supply

State: Residents of Copeland, Duck Hollow, River Caney to receive access to potable water supply

FRANKFORT, Ky. (June 1, 2012) — Access to potable water will soon be available to 103 households in Breathitt County.

The Department for Natural Resources’ (DNR) Division of Abandoned Mine Lands (AML) announced today the award of contract and the start of construction of the Copeland-Duck Hollow and River Caney AML water supply project in Breathitt County.

“The citizens of the Commonwealth deserve access to clean, safe water supplies and the department is pleased to provide yet another waterline to reach the needs of our coalfield communities.” said DNR Commissioner Steve Hohmann.

AML has found that agency-eligible, pre-1982 mining has impacted much of the groundwater in the designated watersheds of Duck Hollow, River Caney Creek,and the community of Copeland making these areas eligible for AML waterline assistance.

The project, with a memorandum of agreement between the Breathitt County Water District and AML, totals $1.75 million. The project will be operated by the Breathitt County Water District. G & W Construction Co. Inc. was awarded the waterline contract with a low bid amount of $959,383. A 31,000-gallon storage tank will be constructed by American Structures, with a low bid of $146,150. Nesbitt Engineering Inc. will provide engineering services. The project will involve the installation of approximately 10.2 miles of water main in various diameters and the installation of water meters at 103 residences, as well as the construction of water storage tanks, booster pump stations, railroad bores, stream crossings, and river bores.

AML is authorized under Kentucky law (KRS.350) to abate hazards to public health, safety, and the environment from abandoned mine lands. To date, AML has expended more than $94.3 million for waterline improvements and has provided more than 13,400 households with potable water supply in 24 coalfield counties in eastern, southern and western Kentucky.