Home » Council on Postsecondary Education approves tuition for public colleges, universities

Council on Postsecondary Education approves tuition for public colleges, universities

FRANKFORT, Ky. (June 22, 2012) —The Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education approved 2012-13 tuition and mandatory fee proposals for the state’s public colleges and universities at its meeting yesterday in Frankfort.

The rate increases for undergraduate, in-state students include: Kentucky Community and Technical College System, 3.7 percent; Eastern Kentucky University, 5.2 percent; Kentucky State University, 5 percent; Morehead State University, 5 percent; Murray State University, 4 percent; University of Kentucky, 6 percent; University of Louisville, 6 percent; and Western Kentucky University, 4.9 percent. The council approved Northern Kentucky University’s tuition and fee schedule in April.

State funding cuts to higher education over several years are the principal force driving the tuition increases. The new tuition revenue, estimated at $45.1 million, will help offset the recent $62.6 million of cuts contained in the 2012 budget bill (HB 265). Institutions are also projecting a $62.1 million increase in institutional fixed costs.

Council and campus officials worked to keep tuition increases as low as possible for students even with the cuts in state funding, while balancing campus priorities to maintain quality programs and services to students during consecutive years of state funding cuts.

The tuition action also included non-resident undergraduate floor rates of two times the resident rate and some requested exceptions, as well as graduate rates for in-state and out-of-state students.

In other business, the council heard a report on regional disparities in Kentucky in terms of educational attainment. The report, “Access to Higher Education in Underserved Areas in Kentucky,” identified recommendations to meet educational challenges in eastern Kentucky and other underserved parts of the state. Chair Pam Miller directed council staff to form a taskforce to review access to higher education and develop strategies.

In other action, the council approved five new programs: a doctorate in occupational therapy at Eastern Kentucky University; a bachelor’s of science in education: STEM education at the University of Kentucky; a first professional certificate in prosthodontics/prosthodontology at the University of Louisville; a Ph.D. in epidemiology and biostatistics at the University of Kentucky; and a bachelor’s of science in agriculture, food and environment at Kentucky State University.

The council heard numerous reports, including one on student loan volume in Kentucky. The report was presented by Robyn Morely, interim executive director, Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority and the Student Loan Corporation, and Ted Franzeim, senior vice president.

Other reports included performance presentations from Kentucky State University and the Association of Independent Kentucky Colleges and Universities, reports on statewide student success, Committee on Equal Opportunities, Kentucky Adult Education’s new 2012-13 fiscal agents, president’s evaluation, President’s Report, and a Commissioner of Education Report.

Before adjourning, the council approved three resolutions honoring the following: Dr. James Votruba, who recently retired as president of Northern Kentucky University with 15 years of service; student Council member Kirby O’Donoghue whose term expires; and Council staff member Irish Dunigan-Harrison who is retiring. Chair Miller also appointed Council member Nancy McKenney to serve on the Committee on Equal Opportunities.

The next meeting of the Council will be Sept. 13-14 at the Jefferson Community and Technical College.