Home » KCTCS college presidents participate in entrepreneurship training

KCTCS college presidents participate in entrepreneurship training

VERSAILLES, Ky. (Aug. 8, 2017) – Presidents and others representing several colleges of the Kentucky Community and Technical College System (KCTCS) took part in a professional development opportunity on adopting an entrepreneurship mindset. KCTCS, along with the National Association for Community College Entrepreneurship (NACCE) and the Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC), offered the event as part of the lead up to the SOAR Summit.

NAACE believes entrepreneurial thinking is the best way to advance economic growth and prosperity for individuals, communities and the nation as a whole. Topics for the session focused on how an entrepreneurship mindset can help leadership in rural communities better engage with business and industry, donors, students and faculty and staff.

Speakers included Earl Gohl, ARC Federal Co-chair; Dr. Rebecca Corbin, NACCE President and CEO; Dr. John Rainone, Dabney Lancaster Community College President; Joe Kapp, Entrepreneur-in-Residence Eastern West Virginia Community College/Principal Behavioral Business and Dr. Larry Ferguson, KCTCS Vice President.

Presidents attending also signed an entrepreneurship pledge. In 2011, NACCE initiated the Presidents for Entrepreneurship Pledge (PFEP) to ignite positive change across campuses and in the classroom. The five steps to this are:

• Create or expand internal & external teams dedicated to entrepreneurship
• Increase entrepreneurs’ engagement in community colleges
• Engage in industry cluster development
• Leverage both community college and community assets to spur innovation and job creation
• Create “buzz” and broad exposure of your college’s commitment to entrepreneurship

Dr. Cynthia Kelley, president of Madisonville Community College (MCC), previously signed the pledge and the college recently was honored nationally for its work in entrepreneurship. MCC was one of five colleges from around the country selected for the 2017 Presidents for Entrepreneurship Pledge College of Excellence Award.