Home » DOCJT graduates 22 from Public Safety Dispatch Academy

DOCJT graduates 22 from Public Safety Dispatch Academy


RICHMOND, Ky. (Feb. 26, 2017) — Twenty-two law enforcement dispatchers graduated Friday from the Public Safety Dispatch Academy at the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training. This class included nine trainees of distinction.

The graduates hail from communications centers across the state, and comprise DOCJT’s 116th telecommunications academy class, which first began in 1999. 

The five weeks of training consisted of 205 hours of academy instruction to satisfy mandated training requirements. Major training areas included identifying the role and responsibilities of the dispatcher, correct phone and radio procedures, handling emergency and non-emergency calls for service, emergency medical dispatch protocols and use of the state and national criminal databases.

 Dispatch basic training is mandatory for any sworn or civilian employee who will dispatch law enforcement officers by radio at a Criminal Justice Information Systems agency. DOCJT also provides in-service and leadership training for Kentucky public safety dispatchers and law enforcement officers.

DOCJT is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University’s campus. The agency is the first in the nation to be accredited under the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies’ public safety training program designation. DOCJT also earned accredited through the International Association for Continuing Education and Training in 2013 – making it the nation’s only law enforcement training academy to achieve dual accreditation by two independent accrediting organizations.

Class 116 graduates and their agencies are:

      LaCresha Blevins, Kenton County Emergency Communications Center

    * Michelle Bowen, Hardin County 911

      Kayla Carpenter, Morehead Police Department

      Hunter T. Carroll, Barren-Metcalfe Emergency Communications Center

      Elizabeth Dedman, Scottsville Police Department

      Joey Greer, Kentucky State University Police Department

    * Kaitlyn Rose Hammons, West Liberty Police Department

      Kathi Huntsberger, Springfield Police Department

      Kerri Johnson, Morehead Police Department

      Michelle Leann Kitchens, Western Kentucky University Police Department

      Amy Elizabeth Knopp, Lebanon Police Department

      Zachary D. Lawson, Campbellsville Police Department

      Michael A. Lynn, Blue Grass Airport Police Department

      Mandolynn McClusky, Western Kentucky University Police Department

    * Sara McLaughlin, Cincinnati/N. Kentucky International Airport Police Department

    * Dominic Anthony Ross, Campbellsville Police Department

      Connor Alan Schierloh, Boone County Public Safety Communications Center

    ◊John D. Smith, Perry County 911

    * Kendra M. Taylor, Pendleton County Dispatch

    * Bailley M. Vinton, Hardin County 911

      Sarah V. Wilshire, Ohio County Sheriff’s Office

      Zackary Austin Wilt, Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office       

    * Denotes Trainee of Distinction

    ◊ Denotes graduate of 165 1/2-hour Non-CJIS Public Safety Dispatch Academy