Home » EKPC leaders look to more sustainable future

EKPC leaders look to more sustainable future

Board members named

WINCHESTER, Ky. — Leaders of East Kentucky Power Cooperative (EKPC) laid out their vision to confront the challenges of the future as they marked the electric cooperative’s 80th anniversary during the organization’s annual meeting.

EKPC marked an important milestone in November when the board approved the cooperative’s first sustainability plan. The plan establishes goals to ensure EKPC continues providing its 16 owner-member cooperatives with reliable, affordable and sustainable energy and related services far into the future.

Notably, the sustainability plan establishes targets for EKPC to reduce carbon dioxide emissions by 35% by 2035 and increase energy from renewable sources by 15% by 2035.

Throughout the past year, EKPC has kept important work and projects on track despite challenges posed by the worldwide COVID-19 pandemic.

Employees and up to 900 contractors continued work on $262 million in projects to ensure EKPC’s largest power plant, Spurlock Station, remains in compliance with tightening federal environmental rules. At Bluegrass Station, crews added backup fuel capability, while employees at Cooper Station overhauled one of the plant’s generating units.

Employees across the organization pitched in to complete work while preventing the spread of illness during the pandemic, Campbell said.

EKPC works closely with its 16 owner-member cooperatives to bring jobs and investment to the communities they serve in order to improve the quality of life in rural areas. In 2020, EKPC and its 16 owner-member cooperatives assisted on economic development projects that resulted in $735 million in investment and 3,200 new jobs in the areas served by the cooperatives.

Alan Ahrman, who represents Owen Electric Cooperative, was elected EKPC’s board chairman for the coming year. Other board officers for the coming year include:

  • Jody Hughes, Blue Grass Energy, was elected vice-chairman
  • Randy Sexton, Farmers RECC, was elected secretary
  • Landis Cornett, Jackson Energy Cooperative, was elected treasurer