Home Β» Leadership KY announces 2021 class of BRIGHT Kentucky

Leadership KY announces 2021 class of BRIGHT Kentucky

FRANKFORT, Ky. β€” Leadership Kentucky has announced the 2021 members of BRIGHT Kentucky, a program that offers entrepreneurial-minded Kentuckians from a variety of occupational sectors the opportunity to participate in nonpartisan, ethical leadership training.

The program is designed specifically for residents of the 54 Kentucky counties of the Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) and is made up of five, three-day sessions where the primary goal is to help participants fully understand the local economic context and to build robust skill sets in communication, collaboration, consensus building, visioning, and community engagement.

The program runs July through November and will take participants across Eastern Kentucky: Pikeville in July, Hart County in August, Ashland in September, Somerset and Corbin in October, and Berea and Frankfort in November. The program’s start date is July 21.

BRIGHT Kentucky is made possible by a $500,000 grant from ARC and the private funding from the Whitaker Foundation, SOAR, Kentucky Power, and other donors.

This year’s class includes 41 participants from 27 different ARC counties

  1. Lina Abdallah β€” Pike County β€” Pikeville Medical Center
  2. Erin Adkins β€” Elliott County β€” First National Bank of Grayson
  3. Cole Atkinson β€” Laurel County β€” The Butchers Pub & Kamea Capital LLC
  4. Joshua Baker β€” Knott County β€” Alice Lloyd College
  5. Hunter Boyd β€” Boyd County β€” Boyd County Fiscal Court
  6. JR Briscoe β€” Pike County β€” University of Pikeville
  7. Timothy Caldwell β€” Floyd County β€” Mr. Tibbs Trading Company
  8. Kendra Calhoun β€” Harlan County β€” Boys & Girls Clubs of Appalachia
  9. Baylen Campbell β€” Perry County β€” Foundation for Appalachian Kentucky
  10. Ricky Campbell β€” Perry County β€” Whitaker Bank, Inc.
  11. Clay Christian β€” Letcher County β€” Double Kwik, Childers Oil
  12. Jordan Collins β€” Knott County β€” Hindman Settlement School
  13. Wendy Crain-Lawson β€”Menifee County β€” Gateway Community Action
  14. Michelle Culp β€” Boyd County β€” Boyd County Fiscal Court
  15. Jackson Davenport β€” Madison County β€” Chenault Vineyards
  16. Natalie Detherage β€” Knox County β€” The Holler Creative
  17. Tara Dykes β€” Leslie County β€” Kentucky River District Health Department
  18. Jessica England β€”Lincoln County β€” Somerset Community College
  19. Stephen Frazier β€” Casey County β€” Tarter Farm and Ranch Equipment
  20. Kiara Gabbard β€” Rowan County β€” PrintUSA
  21. Whitley Gatliff β€” Laurel County β€” Baptist Health Corbin
  22. Olivia Gilkison β€” Boyd County β€” VanAntwerp Attorneys, LLP
  23. Jocelyn Gross β€” Rowan County β€” Gateway Area Development District
  24. Brittany Guffey β€” Wayne County β€” Transamerica Agency Network
  25. Colby Hall β€” Floyd County β€” Shaping Our Appalachian Region (SOAR)
  26. Austin Hart β€” Fleming County β€” Fleming County Schools
  27. Emily Hathcock β€” Warren County β€” Barren River Area Development District
  28. Justin Holsinger β€” Greenup County β€” AEP/Kentucky Power
  29. John Hughes β€” Madison County β€” Office of the Attorney General
  30. Tara Leisure β€” Clark County β€” P&P Creative
  31. Matt Lorimer β€” Garrard County β€” Isaiah House Inc.
  32. Ben Madon β€” Bell County β€” First State Bank of the Southeast
  33. Ashley McCarty β€” Madison County β€” Bluewater Diagnostics Laboratory
  34. Will Napier β€” Laurel County β€” Cumberland Valley Area Development
  35. Toni Ousley β€” Johnson County β€” Big Sandy Skills U
  36. DJ Rymer β€” Boyd County β€” City of Ashland, KY
  37. Kelsey Sebastian β€” Breathitt County β€” Kelsey’s on Main
  38. KelleneΒ Turner β€” Whitley County β€” Kellene.Turner.Art
  39. Kiristen Webb β€” Leslie County β€” Leslie County Schools
  40. Chris Whitenack β€” Lawrence County β€” Addiction Recovery Care
  41. Jennifer Witt β€” Laurel County β€” Operation UNITE

Click here for more Kentucky business news.