Home » Clay Ford of Owensboro to chair the Prichard Committee

Clay Ford of Owensboro to chair the Prichard Committee

LEXINGTON, Ky. — Kentucky community and business leaders are among the 19 new members named to the Prichard Committee for Academic Excellence during its annual business meeting.

The committee also elected the following new officers to its board of directors:

  • W. Clay H. Ford, of Owensboro, was named chair of the Prichard Committee. He is a partner in EM Ford, a regional insurance and financial planning firm, and represents the fourth generation of Ford’s involvement in the family business.
  • Susan Elkington, of Georgetown, was named vice-chair. She is the president of Toyota Motor Manufacturing of Kentucky.
  • Gwendolyn Young, of Lexington, was named secretary/treasurer. She is a CPA partner at Wadlington Young CPAs & Advisors.

Also joining the board of directors for a 3-year term:

  • Elaine Wilson, of Somerset
  • Lonnie Lawson, of Somerset
  • Julie Tennyson, of Paducah,
  • Derrick Ramsey, of Lexington
  • Dr. Jay Box, of Georgetown

Three Kentuckians were also designated as life members of the Prichard Committee:

  • Becky Goss, of Nicholasville
  • Dennis Pearce, of South Carolina
  • Pam Shepherd, of Versailles

This is an honor bestowed on those who actively engaged for 10 years or more in the Prichard Committee’s work to promote vastly improved education in the Commonwealth.

Joining the Prichard Committee as new members are:

  • George E Long II, Marshall County
  • Ryan Salzman, Campbell County
  • Bonnie Higginson, Calloway County
  • Dr. Kate Akers, Spencer County
  • Todd Holland, Graves County
  • Tara Boh Blair, Montgomery County
  • LTC (Ret) Terry G. Owens, Hardin County
  • Edna O. Schack, Rowan County
  • Rachel Watts Webb, Jessamine County
  • Jennifer Carroll, Perry County
  • Cassandra Akers, Floyd County
  • Jeff Hawkins, Perry County
  • Sharon Baker, Jefferson County
  • Derrick Ramsey, Fayette County
  • Kevin Fields, Sr., Jefferson County
  • Dr. Jay K. Box, Scott County
  • Rodney Henderson, Jefferson County
  • Susan Douglas, Fayette County
  • Tara Johnson-Noem, Kenton County

The Prichard Committee for Academic Excellence is an independent, nonpartisan, citizen-led organization working to improve education in Kentucky – early childhood through postsecondary.

Click here for more Corporate Moves.