Home » Harrison County, Ind.: Collaborative, thoughtful planning

Harrison County, Ind.: Collaborative, thoughtful planning

Harrison County is making a name for itself with stellar quality of life and business savvy. In 2016 the city of Corydon, the county seat, was awarded a Stellar Communities designation, which prompted $30 million in investments, including downtown enhancements, housing rehabilitation, and historic building renovations.

HCEDC, the Chamber of Commerce, Community Entrepreneurship Initiative, Southeast Indiana Small Business Development Center, Hometown Collaboration Initiative and other organizations live and breathe teamwork. One result is that Harrison County is on track to become a 1 Gigabyte Community by 2019, a $15 million public-private investment.

County Seat: Corydon; Eva North,Town Council president; thisisindiana.org

Estimated 2018 population: 40,237

No. of households: 14,524

Median household income: $52,926

Chamber of Commerce of Harrison County: Lisa Long, president harrisonchamber.org

Harrison County Economic Development Corporation: Darrell Voelker, executive director hcedcindiana.org

River Hills Economic Development & Regional Planning Commission:
Jill Saegesser, executive director; riverhills.cc

County Commissioners: Charlie Crawford, Kenny Saulman, Jim Klinstiver harrisoncounty.in.gov

Popular Stories