Gov. Bevin appoints three to the Kentucky State Board of Medical Licensure

Gov. Matt Bevin

FRANKFORT, Ky. – Gov. Matt Bevin has appointed Caren L. Daniels, Angela T. Dearinger, and David W. Wallace as members of the Kentucky State Board of Medical Licensure, who will serve for terms expiring Aug. 31, 2022.

Dr. Caren L. Daniels, of Morehead, is an emergency physician, and St. Claire Regional’s first associate chief medical officer for Hospital-Based Care. She also serves as the medical director of Acute Care Services and is the attending emergency physician.

Dr. Daniels serves as the regional EMS director for St. Claire Regional Medical Center, and EMS medical director for Left Beaver Fire and Rescue, Morehead/Rowan County EMS, Elliott County EMS, Menifee County EMS, Morgan County EMS, Bath County EMS and Carter County EMS. Additionally, she serves on several boards and committees relating to the medical field and her expertise.

After graduating Western Kentucky University with a bachelor of science (B.S.) in 1992, she attended the Mayo Medical School, where she graduated with a doctor of medicine (M.D.) in 1997.

Dr. Angela T. Dearinger, of Versailles, is a physician. She is currently the assistant dean of Accreditation in Graduate Medical Education at the University of Kentucky College of Medicine, the associate chief of staff of Education at the Lexington VA Medical Center, and an associate professor for the Department of Internal Medicine at the UK College of Medicine.  She is board certified in three medical specialties: Internal medicine, Pediatrics, and Preventive Medicine.

Dr. Dearinger also serves as the associate dean for Veterans Affairs at the UK College of Medicine. She founded the Kentucky Public Health Research Network (K-PHReN) in 2008, and served as its director until 2014. Additionally, Dr. Dearinger is involved with many education-related boards and committees, and serves as a mentor.

After graduating summa cum laude from Transylvania University with a bachelor of arts (B.A) in 1997, she attended the University of Kentucky College of Medicine, where she graduated with distinction and earned her doctor of medicine (M.D.) in 2001. In 2007, she graduated the UK College of Public Health with a master of public health (M.P.H).

Dr. David W. Wallace, of Shelbyville, is a family physician. He has served families in the Commonwealth since 1984, and currently works as a family physician and AEHR Physician Champion for KentuckyOne Health Medical Group.

Dr. Wallace has participated on many boards, including serving as chairman for the Professional Review Committee for Jewish Hospital Shelbyville and the Board of Directors for the Kentucky Academy of Family Physicians. He also served as a consultant to the Kentucky Board of Medical Licensure from 1986 to 2008.

After graduating from Transylvania University with a bachelor of arts (B.A.) in 1976, Dr. Wallace graduated the University of Louisville School of Medicine in 1981 with a doctor of medicine (M.D.). He obtained his physician executive master of business administration (M.B.A.) in 2001 from the University of Tennessee.

The Kentucky Board of Medical Licensure is composed of 15 members, 11 of whom are appointed by the Governor. The Board is responsible for protecting the public by ensuring that only qualified medical and osteopathic physicians are licensed and initiating appropriate disciplinary action when violations of the Medical Practice Act occur. In addition, the Board regulates the practice of Physician Assistants, Surgical Assistants, Athletic Trainers and Acupuncturists in the Commonwealth.

Please wait...

Subscribe to the FASTER LANE business newsletter.

Subscribe and receive breaking Kentucky business news and updates daily.