Home » Kentucky Bourbon Hall of Fame to induct three new members and honor Lifetime Achievement recipient

Kentucky Bourbon Hall of Fame to induct three new members and honor Lifetime Achievement recipient

Top: Freddie Johnson and Dr. Pearse Lyons; Bottom: Max L. Shapira and Matthew J. Shattock.

LOUISVILLE, Ky. – The Kentucky Bourbon Hall of Fame will induct three individuals into its hallowed ranks on Friday, Sept. 14, and bestow its prestigious Parker Beam Lifetime Achievement Award on one of the industry’s most successful leaders, visionaries and champions.

“This year’s class truly shows the diversity of personas behind the growing Golden Age of Kentucky Bourbon, from a beloved tour guide whose wisdom and personality embodies and elevates our visitors’ experience, to the leadership and passion of three top executives who have forged the path to our current success,” said Eric Gregory, president of the Kentucky Distillers’ Association.

“Each, in their own way, has forever transformed our signature spirit. We are eternally grateful for their remarkable achievements, dedication and commitment to our timeless craft, and for that we offer our heartfelt thanks.”

This year’s inductees are, in alphabetical order:

  • Freddie Johnson, VIP Visitor Lead, Buffalo Trace Distillery
  • The late Dr. Pearse Lyons, founder and president, Alltech, Inc.
  • Max L. Shapira, president, Heaven Hill Brands (Lifetime Achievement)
  • Matthew J. Shattock, chairman & CEO, Beam Suntory

A limited number of tickets are still available at www.kybourbonfestival.com for the luncheon event on Friday from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. at the Frazier History Museum on historic Whiskey Row in downtown Louisville, 829 West Main Street. Tickets are $100 and include lunch and drinks.

The Kentucky Distillers’ Association created the Hall of Fame in 2001, in conjunction with the annual Kentucky Bourbon Festival, to recognize individuals and organizations that have made a significant and transformational impact on Bourbon’s stature, growth and awareness.

It is the highest honor given by Kentucky’s signature Bourbon and distilled spirits industry.

The 27th annual Kentucky Bourbon Festival, which runs September 12 -16 this year, is a celebration of all things Bourbon. Tickets to select events are still available at www.kybourbonfestival.com.