Home » Kentucky Association of Convention and Visitors Bureaus elects president

Kentucky Association of Convention and Visitors Bureaus elects president

Eric Summe

COVINGTON, Ky. — Eric Summe, president and CEO of meetNKY/Northern Kentucky Convention & Visitors Bureau, has been elected 2019 president of the Kentucky Association of Convention and Visitors Bureaus.

Summe took office at the Dec. 14 KACVB meeting in Georgetown, Ky.

KACVB is a not-for-profit organization that meets quarterly throughout the commonwealth. The organization’s goal is to improve the public awareness and understanding of the convention and visitors industry’s economic and social contribution to society as well as to monitor and influence government policies and programs affecting members, the convention and visitor industry.

In addition, the organization encourages ongoing educational opportunities for members which enhance their proficiency and to support high standards of professional practices throughout the convention and visitor industry.

“I’m looking forward to working with my colleagues to continue our work in moving tourism in Kentucky forward,” Summe said. “Tourism is a major contributor to the commonwealth’s economic growth and well-being, and our association members work together to ensure our partners and communities realize and appreciate the value visitors bring.”

KACVB works with sister organizations including the Kentucky Department of Tourism, Kentucky Travel Industry Association, Kentucky Restaurant Association, Kentucky Hotel & Lodging Association and the Kentucky Marina Association.

Summe will serve as president of KACVB through the year and will conclude his appointment at the December 2019 meeting.

2019 KACVB officers include: Vice President Nancy Turner, Winchester-Clark County Tourism Commission; Secretary Janette Marson, Lake Cumberland Tourism Commission; Treasurer Erin Carrico, Murray Convention & Visitors Bureau; Immediate Past President Troy Beam, Shepherdsville-Bullitt County Tourist Commission.