Home » Republic Bank announces winners of annual ‘We CARE’ Awards in Louisville

Republic Bank announces winners of annual ‘We CARE’ Awards in Louisville

Representatives from the companies who received this year’s We CARE awards are shown. From left are representatives from The Comfy Cow, Window World of Louisville, UnitedHealthcare, Kentucky Farm Bureau – Shelby County, Street Moda, Steel Technologies, Summit Energy and Hwang’s Martial Arts.

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (Sept. 18, 2012) — The winners of Republic Bank’s eighth annual We CARE Awards for Louisville were announced Thursday night at an awards ceremony at The Olmsted, emceed by Charla Young, host of “Power to Change” television show.

In 2005, Republic Bank launched the first We CARE Awards as a way to give recognition and appreciation to local companies whose employees do great things for the community. The award was created to publicly congratulate companies who stress the four elements contained in the word CARE – Community, Activity, Recognition, Enterprise.

Nearly 50 nominations were accepted from companies who met the We CARE criteria. They were judged on how the companies encourage employees to become involved in volunteer activities, either during or after work hours. They also were evaluated on how they support community-based initiatives through philanthropic efforts and neighborhood assistance.

Winners were selected by an independent panel of judges consisting of previous winners and community leaders. Of the 37 finalists, the following eight companies were selected as winners: The Comfy Cow, Hwang’s Martial Arts, Kentucky Farm Bureau, Shelby County, Steel Technologies, Street Moda, Summit Energy, UnitedHealthcare and Window World of Louisville.

“All of us at Republic Bank recognize the employees of the nominated companies, and especially the winning companies for the community efforts they put forth. They contribute so much to making this a great place to live and raise our families,” said Steve Trager, Chairman and CEO of Republic Bank.

Winning companies received a handmade glass award designed by Louisville glass artist Casey Hyland.

Some of the previous winners of the We CARE Award include: Elite Homes, Inc.; UPS; Fire Protection Services; Brown Jordan International; Gould’s Discount Medical; JCPS; Baptist Hospital East; Marriott Downtown Louisville; Hillerich & Bradsby Company; The JAM Brands, Inc.; Galen College of Nursing; Brown-Forman Corporation; and Humana.