Kentucky Association of Convention and Visitors Bureaus elects 2020 president

WINCHESTER, Ky. — Nancy Allen Turner, executive director of the Winchester-Clark County Tourism Commission, has been elected 2020 president of the Kentucky Association of Convention and Visitors Bureaus (KACVB). Turner took office at the Dec. 13 meeting in Paducah, Ky.

KACVB is a not-for-profit organization that meets quarterly throughout the commonwealth. The organization’s goal is to improve the public awareness and understanding of the convention and visitors industry’s economic and social contribution to society as well as to monitor and influence government policies and programs affecting members, the convention and visitor industry.

In addition, the organization encourages ongoing educational opportunities for members which enhance their proficiency and to support high standards if professional practices throughout the convention and visitor industry.

“I am honored to have been selected to lead this wonderful organization,” Turner said. “Tourism is a major contributor to Kentucky’s economic growth and vitality. I’m proud to work with partners who represent communities of all sizes, to better educate the value that tourism brings to the commonwealth.”

KACVB works with sister organizations such as the Kentucky Department of Tourism, Kentucky Travel Industry Association, Kentucky Restaurant Association and the Kentucky Marina Association.

Turner will serve as president of KACVB through the year and will conclude her appointment at the December 2020 meeting.

2020 executive officers include: Vice President Erin Carrico, Murray Convention and Visitors Bureau; Secretary Janette Marson, Lake Cumberland Tourism Commission; Treasurer Traci Cunningham, Oak Grove Tourism; Immediate Past President Eric Summe, MeetNKY.