Home » Lyndon mayor elected president of Kentucky League of Cities; other officers announced

Lyndon mayor elected president of Kentucky League of Cities; other officers announced

LEXINGTON, Ky. (Oct. 24, 2012) – Lyndon Mayor Susan Barto took office as president of the Kentucky League of Cities on Oct. 12. Midway Mayor Tom Bozarth was elected first vice president and Bardstown Mayor Bill Sheckles was elected second vice president. The officers will serve one-year terms.

[pullquote_left]“Cities need to band together. We are all struggling to do more with less and at the same time, we’re trying to keep services at a level that our residents expect.” — Lyndon Mayor Susan Barton[/pullquote_left]

“KLC is fortunate to have an engaged and diverse Board representing cities of all sizes across the commonwealth,” said Jon Steiner, KLC executive director/CEO. “Our officers have already proven their willingness to actively participate on behalf of the membership, and this commitment will continue as we approach issues such as pension reform in the upcoming legislative session.”

Kentucky League of Cities members elected officers, as well as its executive board and board of directors (which sets the organization’s legislative priorities), at its annual business meeting during the KLC Conference & Expo in Lexington.

Barto said she looks forward to the year as president. KLC brings cities together on important issues and challenges, she said.

“Cities need to band together. We are all struggling to do more with less and at the same time, we’re trying to keep services at a level that our residents expect,” Barto said.

Mayor Barto said one of her priorities is to continue to expand representation on the Kentucky League of Cities board from all parts of the commonwealth and all sizes of cities which will help strengthen KLC’s legislative efforts.

“My goal is to get more people involved in leadership and give our members more access to KLC with training, meetings and networking events,” Barto said.

Kentucky League of Cities officers, executive board and board of directors


President                                 Mayor Susan Barto (Lyndon)

First Vice-President                Mayor Tom Bozarth (Midway)

Second Vice-President           Mayor Bill Sheckles (Bardstown)

Executive Director/CEO           Mr. Jon Steiner

Immed. Past President             Mayor Bill Paxton (Paducah)

Executive Board

City Clerk Debbie Batliner (Simpsonville)

City Manager Donovan Blackburn (Pikeville)

Mayor George Cheatham (Greensburg)

Mayor Gale Cherry (Princeton)

Mayor James Craft (Whitesburg)

Councilmember Ann Deatherage (Carrollton)

Mayor Tom Hardesty (Shelbyville)

Mayor Roddy Harrison (Williamsburg)

Mayor Dan Kemp (Hopkinsville)

Mayor Paul Meier (Crestview Hills)

Mayor Teddy Preston (Louisa)

Mayor Teresa Rochetti-Cantrell (Mayfield)

Board of Directors Members

Members of the KLC Board of Directors were not elected this year.  These city officials will continue their terms as elected in 2011. The term ends October 2013.


Mayor Nancy Camp (Elkton)

Mayor Scott Marshall (Guthrie)

Mayor Bill Wells (Murray)


Commissioner Robert Blythe   (Richmond)

Councilmember Sherman Bowman (Bonnieville)

Mayor Jeffrey Edwards (Monticello)

Mayor Eddie Girdler (Somerset)


Mayor Edwinna Baker (Lawrenceburg)

Mayor Claude Christensen (Sadieville)

Mayor James Hamberg (Southgate)

Mayor Russ Meyer (Nicholasville)


Mayor Bill Kelley (Middlesboro)

Mayor Tom Kelley (Ashland)

Mayor Bob Porter (Paintsville)

Mayor Martin Voiers (Flemingsburg)

At-Large Directors

Mayor Steve Austin (Henderson)

Mayor Daniel Bell (Taylor Mill)

Mayor David Perkins  (Morehead)

Mayor Gary Williamson  (Mount Sterling)


Mayor Gregory Fischer – Representative for Louisville Metro, Region 3

Mayor Jim Gray – Representative for LFUCG


Councilmember Glenn Caldwell, Williamstown (Region 3)

Mayor David Cartmell, Maysville, (Region 4)

Councilmember William Taylor, Greensburg (Region 2)


Mayor Ed Burtner, Winchester, (Region 3)

Mayor Diane Whalen, Florence, (Region 3)


(Appointed by the president)

W. Scott Crabtree, President, Municipal Attorneys Association of Kentucky

Dennis Michael Crist, Representative, Code Administrators Association of Kentucky

Chuck Haddaway, Executive Director, Kentucky Recreation and Park Society

Stan Holmes, Representative, Kentucky Black Caucus of Local Elected Officials

Chief Guy Howie, Representative, Kentucky Assoc. of Chiefs of Police

Chief Greg Johnson, Representative, Kentucky Association of Fire Chiefs

Larisa Sims, AICP, Representative, Kentucky Chapter American Planning Association

Crissy Upton, President, Kentucky Municipal Clerks Association

Tim Williams, Representative, Kentucky City Management Association

Wendell Wright, Representative, Kentucky Chapter American Public Works Association

Representative from Kentucky Public Human Resources Association

Representative from Kentucky Government Finance Officers Association