Home » Ten hospitals become first in Kentucky Trauma Care System

Ten hospitals become first in Kentucky Trauma Care System

House Bill 371 efforts strengthen statewide ability to respond to emergencies, trauma care needs

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Oct. 29, 2012) — The Kentucky Department for Public Health designated the first 10 hospitals as part of the Kentucky Trauma Care System at a ceremony last week at the Kentucky Trauma Symposium in Lexington.

“I am proud to recognize the efforts of the Department for Public Health, the Kentucky Trauma Advisory Committee, and these first 10 hospitals to receive designations as members of the Kentucky Trauma Care System,” said Gov. Steve Beshear. “When I signed House Bill 371 four years ago, I knew this would be an important step to continue to strengthen our emergency medical capacity across the state. The range of facilities that have already applied to join the system demonstrates the commitment of our health care community to doing just that.”

House Bill 371, co-sponsored by Rep. Bob DeWeese and Rep. Mary Lou Marzian, both of Louisville, was passed in 2008. It charged the Department for Public Health and the Kentucky Trauma Advisory Committee with developing and implementing a statewide trauma care system, integrated with the public health system for injury prevention.

“This will greatly improve the quality of trauma care Kentuckians deserve to receive and will now be able to receive,” Marzian said. “I am so pleased to hear positive things about these initial and critical first steps to establishing the Kentucky Trauma Care System.”

Work to establish the framework for the system has been ongoing for the past four years, with administrative regulations put in place earlier this year. The 10 hospitals recognized today are the first to apply for the designation under those regulations. Hospitals can apply for four levels of designation, with Level 1 indicating the hospital is able to handle trauma at the highest skill level. The first hospitals and levels of designation are:

– Level 1 adult: University of Kentucky (UK) Chandler Medical Center (Lexington), University of Louisville Hospital (Louisville);

– Level 1 pediatric: UK/Kentucky Children’s Hospital (Lexington), Norton’s Kosair Children’s Hospital (Louisville);

– Level 3: Taylor Regional Hospital (Campbellsville), Ephraim McDowell Regional Hospital (Danville); and

– Level 4: Livingston County Hospital (Salem), Marcum & Wallace Hospital (Irvine), Ephraim McDowell Ft. Logan Hospital (Stanford), James B. Haggin Memorial Hospital (Harrodsburg).

“This has been a truly collaborative process undertaken by Kentucky’s hospital and public health community because we all recognize the value to Kentuckians of having a robust trauma care system in place,” said Dr. Stephanie Mayfield, commissioner of DPH.”I thank all the committed medical professionals, the Kentucky Hospital Association, the members of the advisory board and staff at the Department for Public Health who have dedicated their time to making this a reality.”

More information about the Kentucky Trauma Care System can be found at the Kentucky Hospital Association website.