Home » Transition of driver licensing services nearing in eight counties

Transition of driver licensing services nearing in eight counties

FRANKFORT, Ky. — A new era of driver licensing services, offering an array of options and conveniences for obtaining or renewing driver’s licenses and state identification cards, will soon begin in eight more Kentucky counties this month.

The traditional trip to the local Office of Circuit Court Clerk is being replaced in those counties with a visit to a secure, specialized Driver Licensing Regional Office operated by the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC).

Making the transition this month will be Caldwell, Casey, Green, Hardin, Menifee, Metcalfe, McCreary and Webster counties. The Office of Circuit Court Clerk in each of those counties will cease nearly all in-person driver licensing services on Monday, May 24.

The lone exception is that the circuit court clerk in each county will continue the temporary processing of remotely submitted applications for renewal or replacement of standard-issue licenses and IDs until June 30, 2021. That was an emergency measure to limit person-to-person contact and safeguard public health during the COVID-19 pandemic.

The remote renewal option – by mail or by leaving applications in drop boxes – is not available to anyone whose name or address has changed or who requires testing by the Kentucky State Police. Get more information at drive.ky.gov | COVID-19 Driver Licensing Changes and Updates.

Twelve counties to date have already transferred services to regional offices: Adair, Breathitt, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Hopkins, Madison, McCracken, Pulaski, Rowan, Russell and Woodford. The phased county-by-county transition will be complete by June 30, 2022.

All customers are encouraged to make an appointment online at drive.ky.gov | Regional Offices Map. A limited number of walk-ins will be served due to COVID-19 safety guidelines.