Home » On the boards — Nov. 2012

On the boards — Nov. 2012

By Karen Baird


Ulysses Lee “Junior” Bridgeman

Ulysses Lee “Junior” Bridgeman has been appointed to the board of directors of Churchill Downs Inc. Bridgeman is founder and president of Bridgeman Foods LLC.


James C. Baughman Jr. has been named president of the Global Workspace Association.


God’s Pantry Food Bank in Lexington has announced its officers and board of directors for the 2013 fiscal year: President – Cheryl James, United States Bankruptcy Court; First Vice President – Kent Barber, DelCotto Law Group; Second Vice President – Gregory Schaaf, United States Bankruptcy Court; Treasurer – Holly Branham, Fifth Third Bank; Secretary – Myra Ridley, Toyota Motor Manufacturing Kentucky; Board Members – Mindy Barfield, Dinsmore & Shohl; Carla Blanton, Carla Blanton Consulting; Ken Brandenburgh, KEBCO Inc.; John Burkhard, Ford Motor Co. (retired); Dr. Don Frazier, University of Kentucky Medical Center (retired); Shane Carpenter, UPS; Benjamin Caudill, Kentucky Bank; Jane Winkler Dyche, attorney; Stacy Ellison, WKYT; Jennifer Osborne, Preston Osborne Group; Wendy McCarty, Kroger; Jeff Ginnan, Central Bank & Trust Co.; Alison Lundergan Grimes, Kentucky Secretary of State; Jerry Hale, Keeneland; Dave Harper, American Funds (retired); Carlean Hefner, Ludwig Blair & Bush; Scott Morris, Rhino Energy; John-Mark Hack, Local Food Association and Marksbury Farm Market; Kathy Scorsone-Stovall, Clear Channel Radio; Lisa Smith, Columbia Gas of Kentucky; Charles E. Ward, Dinsmore & Shohl; and Harvie Wilkinson, UK Gatton College of Business & Economics.


George Burkley has been elected chairman of KentuckianaWorks, Louisville’s workforce investment board. Burkley is chief strategy officer of Signature Healthcare.


Gov. Steve Beshear has appointed the following individuals to the Kentucky Agricultural Development Board: James R. Mahan, Lexington; Patrick M. Henderson, Irvington; and Karen M. Curtis, Mount Olivet.


David P. Calzi, an accountant with Ernst & Young in Louisville, has been appointed to the board of directors of the Kentucky Center for the Arts.


Wil James
Jim Booth

The following individuals have been named to the 2013 executive committee of the Kentucky Chamber of Commerce board of the directors: Chairman – Jim Booth, Booth Energy, Inez; Chair Elect – Mary Pat Regan, AT&T Kentucky, Louisville; Immediate Past Chairman – Luther Deaton, Central Bank & Trust, Lexington; Treasurer – Paula Hanson, Dean Dorton Allen Ford, Lexington; Vice Chair-Administration – Chris Hermann, Louisville Gas & Electric/Kentucky Utilities, Louisville; Vice Chair-Business Education – David Gray, Baptist Hospital East, Louisville; Vice Chair-Public Affairs – Wil James, Toyota Motor Manufacturing of Kentucky, Georgetown; Vice Chair-Membership & Marketing – Elizabeth McCoy, Planters Bank, Hopkinsville; Small Business Representative – Tierra K. Turner, TKT & Associates, Louisville; Chamber Foundation Chairman – Daniel Bork, Lexmark International, Lexington; At-Large Members – Kevin Canafax, Fidelity Investments, Covington; Steve Loyal, Atmos Energy, Owensboro; and Deirdre Lyons, Alltech Inc., Nicholasville; and KCC President and Chief Executive Officer Dave Adkisson.


The Kentucky League of Cities has elected its officers, executive board and board of directors for the coming year: President – Lyndon Mayor Susan Barto; First Vice President – Midway Mayor Tom Bozarth; Second Vice President – Bardstown Mayor Bill Sheckles; Executive Director/CEO – Jon Steiner; Immediate Past President – Paducah Mayor Bill Paxton. Serving on the executive board are Simpsonville City Clerk Debbie Batliner; Pikeville City Manager Donovan Blackburn; Greensburg Mayor George Cheatham; Princeton Mayor Gale Cherry; Whitesburg Mayor James Craft; Carrollton Councilmember Ann Deatherage; Shelbyville Mayor Tom Hardesty; Williamsburg Mayor Roddy Harrison; Hopkinsville Mayor Dan Kemp; Crestview Hills Mayor Paul Meier; Louisa Mayor Teddy Preston; and Mayfield Mayor Teresa Rochetti-Cantrell. Serving on the board of directors are: Region 1 – Elkton Mayor Nancy Camp, Guthrie Mayor Scott Marshall, and Murray Mayor Bill Wells; Region 2 – Richmond Commissioner Robert Blythe, Bonnieville Councilmember Sherman Bowman, Monticello Mayor Jeffrey Edwards and Somerset Mayor Eddie Girdler; Region 3 – Lawrenceburg Mayor Edwinna Baker, Sadieville Mayor Claude Christensen, Southgate Mayor James Hamberg and Nicholasville Mayor Russ Meyer; Region 4 – Middlesboro Mayor Bill Kelley, Ashland Mayor Tom Kelley, Paintsville Mayor Bob Porter and Flemingsburg Mayor Martin Voiers; At-Large Directors – Henderson Mayor Steve Austin, Taylor Mill Mayor Daniel Bell, Morehead Mayor David Perkins and Mount Sterling Mayor Gary Williamson; Louisville and Lexington Directors – Louisville Mayor Gregory Fischer and Lexington Mayor Jim Gray; Active Past Presidents – Williamstown Councilmember Glenn Caldwell (Region 3), Maysville Mayor David Cartmell (Region 4) and Greensburg Councilmember William Taylor (Region 2); Former Executive Board Members – Winchester Mayor Ed Burtner (Region 3) and Florence Mayor Diane Whalen (Region 3); Governmental Organization Representatives (appointed by the president) – W. Scott Crabtree, Municipal Attorneys Association of Kentucky; Dennis Michael Crist, Code Administrators Association of Kentucky; Chuck Haddaway, Kentucky Recreation and Park Society; Stan Holmes, Kentucky Black Caucus of Local Elected Officials; Chief Guy Howie, Kentucky Association of Chiefs of Police; Chief Greg Johnson, Kentucky Association of Fire Chiefs; Larisa Sims, Kentucky Chapter – American Planning Association; Crissy Upton, Kentucky Municipal Clerks Association; Tim Williams, Kentucky City Management Association; Wendell Wright, Kentucky Chapter – American Public Works Association; and representatives from the Kentucky Public Human Resources Association and the Kentucky Government Finance Officers Association.


Wayne M. Martin has been appointed to the Morehead State University board of regents. Martin, of Winchester, is a broadcast television executive with Gray Television Inc.


Stephen A. Williams has been named to the board of regents of Murray State University. Williams, of Goshen, is president and CEO of Norton Healthcare.


Richard A. Boehne

Richard A. Boehne has been appointed to the Northern Kentucky University board of regents. Boehne, of Newport, is president and CEO of the E.W. Scripps Co.


The following individuals have been named to the board of directors of Opportunity for Work & Learning, a Lexington nonprofit organization that educates and equips individuals who have barriers to employment: Ken Anderson, Toyota; Kevin Atkins, Office of the Mayor; Ken Lee, Alltech’s Lexington Brewing Co.; Darryl D. Thompson, Fayette County Public Schools; and Kimberly Potter-Blair, Department of Corrections.


Gary W. Napier has been appointed to the board of directors of Somerset Community College. Napier, of London, is an attorney at Napier and Associated PSC.


Stephen M. Priebe has joined the board of directors of Louisville-based Stock Yards Bank & Trust Co. and its parent company S.Y. Bancorp Inc. Priebe is president of Hall Contracting of Kentucky Inc., which is headquartered in Louisville.


Kelly Sullivan Holland has been named to the board of trustees at the University of Kentucky. Holland, of Lexington, works in sales for Merck & Co. Inc.


Dr. Joseph W. Prather II has been named to the board of regents for the University of Louisville. Prather, of Elizabethtown, is a physician and chief medical officer for Baptist Healthcare System.