Home » On the boards: March 2013

On the boards: March 2013

By wmadministrator


Susan W. Carey, system director – health information management for Norton Healthcare, has been elected to the American Health Information Management Association’s board of directors for 2013.


Eli Mertens
Eli Mertens is president of the Bluegrass Tourism Marketing Association.

The Bluegrass Tourism Marketing Association has elected its board of directors for 2013: President – Eli Mertens, TravelHost of the Bluegrass; Vice President of Membership – Windy Lane, Hyatt Place Lexington; Vice President of Programming – Kristie Woodrum, Hilton Suites Lexington Green; Secretary – Amy Sellin, Zipline Tours of Red River Gorge; Treasurer – Bill Marshall, Inn on Broadway; Directors-at-Large – Kelly Bates, Commerce Lexington; Becky Trimble, Lexington Center Corp.; Tiffany Yarborough, Avis Rent-a-Car of Lexington; Lisa Jackson, Kentucky Horse Park; and Kelly Karbowicz, TravelHost of the Bluegrass.


Commerce Lexington Inc. has announced its executive board and board of directors for 2013: Chair-Elect – Danny Murphy, University of Kentucky College of Law; 2012 Chair – Jeri Isbell, Lexmark International Inc.; Immediate Past Chair – Harry T. Richart III, PNC; Treasurer – Laura Boison, U.S. Bank; General Counsel – Kenneth R. Sagan, Stites and Harbison; Secretary – Robert L. Quick, Commerce Lexington Inc.; Vice Chair, Business and Education Network – James Hardin, Fayette County Public Schools; Vice Chair, Communications – Nancy Wiser, Wiser Strategies; Vice Chair, Economic Development – Job D. (Darby) Turner, Bingham Greenebaum Doll; Vice Chair, Leadership Development – Herb Miller, Columbia Gas of Kentucky; Vice Chair, Marketing and Members Services – Blair Boggs, Ashland Inc.; Vice Chair, Community and Minority Business Development – Larry Forester, Community Trust Bank; Vice Chair, Public Policy – Barry Mayfield, East Kentucky Power Cooperative; Business and Education Network, At Large – Tucker Ballinger, Forcht Bank; Regional and Agricultural Representative – John Mahan, Mahan Farms; LFUCG Representative – Kevin Atkins, Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government; At-Large Representatives – David Freibert, Kentucky Utilities Co., and Karen S. Hill, Central Baptist Hospital.

Danny Murphy
Danny Murphy is chair-elect of Commerce Lexington’s executive board.


Hospice of the Bluegrass has announced its board officers for 2013: Chair – Woodford Webb, The Webb Companies; Vice Chair – Mark Nabity, Grayhawk LLC; Treasurer – Jen Shah, Dean Dorton Allen Ford PLLC; and Secretary – Eric Frankl, Blue Grass Airport.


The Kentucky Distillers Association has announced its officers and board of directors for 2013: Chair – Rick Robinson, Wild Turkey Distillery; Vice Chairman – Joe Fraser, Heaven Hill Distilleries Inc.; Secretary-Treasurer – Andrea Wilson, Diageo North America; and board members Chris Morris, Brown-Forman; John Rhea, Four Roses Distillery; and Jeff Conder, Beam Inc.

Rick Robinson
Rick Robinson is chair of the Kentucky Distillers Association board of directors.


The following individuals have been elected to serve as officers of the Kentucky Historical Society Foundation, a nonprofit organization that provides financial support to the Kentucky Historical Society: President – Dennis T. Dorton; First Vice President – Bosworth M. Todd; Second Vice President – Ann Rosenstein Giles; Treasurer – Buckner Woodford IV; and Secretary – Kent Whitworth. Board members include: Bruce Cotton, James T. Crain Jr., Thomas P. Dupree Sr., Jo M. Ferguson, John Greenebaum, Frank Hamilton, Jamie Hargrove, Raymond R. Hornback, Elizabeth Lloyd, Libby Jones, James C. Klotter, Nancy Lampton, Crit Luallen, Margaret Patterson, Robert Rich, Warren W. Rosenthal, James Shepherd, J. David Smith, Charles Stewart, John P. Stewart and William Sturgill.


The Kentucky State Fair Board has elected officers for 2013: Chair – Mark Lynn; Vice Chair – Mike Libs; and Secretary-Treasurer – Clifford “Rip” Rippetoe.


Gov. Steve Beshear has appointed Jon W. Ackerson to the Unemployment Insurance Commission. Ackerson, of Jeffersontown, is an attorney and will represent employers.


Leadership Kentucky, a statewide leadership development organization, has announced its 2013 board of directors. The executive committee includes: Chair – Timothy Rutledge, Brown-Forman Corp., Louisville; Immediate Past Chair – Jim Conn, Commercial Door and Hardware, Paducah; Chair-Elect – Deborah Moessner, Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield, Louisville; Secretary – Lytle Thomas, Heritage Bank, Burlington; Treasurer – Charles Beach III, Peoples Exchange Bank, Beattyville; Finance Chair – Barbara Dickens, Louisville Water Co., Louisville.

Reappointed members include: Dan Bork, Lexmark International Inc., Lexington; Mary Michael Corbett, Norton Healthcare, Louisville; Regina Jackson, English, Lucas, Priest and Owsley, Bowling Green; Rob Samuels, Maker’s Mark Distillery, Louisville; and Elmer K. Whitaker, Whitaker Bank Corp. of Kentucky, Lexington.

New executive committee appointments include: Jim Booth, Booth Energy, Lovely; and Teresa Trimble Hall, D.C. Trimble Inc., Somerset. New board members include: Sherry Craig, KentuckyOne Health, Louisville; Marya Johnson, Brown-Forman Corp., Louisville; Maurie McGarvey, Paducah Bank and Trust Co., Paducah; and Ron Wilson, Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green.

Returning members include: Claire Alagia, Bittners LLC, Louisville; Rich Alloo, Toyota Motor Engineering and Manufacturing North America, Erlanger; Jackie L. Banahan, Jackie L. Banahan DMD, Lexington; Jeffrey Bringardner, Humana Inc., Louisville; Lisle Cheatham, City of Greensburg; Barton Darrell, Warren County Board of Education, Bowling Green; Mark Gillming, Messer Construction Co., Louisville; C. Tyson Gorman, Wyatt, Tarrant and Combs, Louisville; Pam Helton, Kentuckians for Better Transportation, Louisville; Judy “JJ” Jackson, University of Kentucky, Lexington; Rob Lauber, Yum! Brands Inc., Louisville; David Ledford, Boneal Inc., Means; John Malloy, LG&E-KU, Louisville; Darrell Maynard, Eastern Telephone and Technologies, Pikeville; David McFaddin, Eastern Kentucky University, Richmond; Francis O’Hara, Kenton County Public Schools, Ft. Wright; Gov. Paul E. Patton, University of Pikeville, Pikeville; Jeffery Taylor, Tennessee Valley Authority, Hopkinsville; Neil Thornbury, T. J. Samson Community Hospital, Glasgow; Michael Williams, Blue Grass Energy, Nicholasville; Ranie Wohnhas, Kentucky Power Co. (AEP), Frankfort; and Angela Woodward, Elizabethtown.


Al Blevins is president of the Lexington Board of Realtors.
Al Blevins is president of the Lexington-Bluegrass Association of Realtors.
Linda Wiley is president-elect of the Lexington-Bluegrass Association of Realtors.
Linda Wiley is president-elect of the Lexington-Bluegrass Association of Realtors.

The following individuals have been named as 2013 officers for the Lexington-Bluegrass Association of Realtors: President – Al Blevins, Caswell Prewitt Realty Inc.; President-Elect – Linda Wiley, Keller Williams Bluegrass Realty; Treasurer – Betty Musselman, RE/MAX Creative Realty; and Treasurer-Elect – Chip Diehl, Prudential A.S. de Movellan.  The board of directors includes: Ty Brown, Weichert Realtors Bluegrass; Shirley deBoor, Keller Williams Bluegrass Realty; Donna Ensminger, Prudential A.S. de Movellan; Kristy Gooch, RE/MAX Elite Realty; Mike Gooch, Gooch Auction Group; Tara Hayes, Rector-Hayden Realtors; Todd Hyatt, Lois Ann Disponette Real Estate; Lura Justice, Rector-Hayden Realtors; Mary Anne Simmons, EXP Realty LLC; Carl Tackett, Coldwell Banker McMahan; Missy Winchell, RE/MAX Creative Realty; and Kay Wright, Rector-Hayden Realtors.


Cynthia Sproehnle, director of the assessment center at Gateway Community and Technical College, has been appointed to serve as a director of the National College Testing Association.