Home » Kentucky Chamber recognizes 12 legislators with MVP awards

Kentucky Chamber recognizes 12 legislators with MVP awards

FRANKFORT, Ky. (May 8, 2013) – The Kentucky Chamber of Commerceannounced Wednesday it has awarded 12 legislators the 2nd Annual Chamber MVP Award. The legislators, who were recognized for their conspicuous actions to support Kentucky’s business community during the 2013 Kentucky General Assembly, were given a commemorative Louisville Slugger bat.

logo-kentucky-chamber“This legislative session was perhaps one of the most successful I’ve seen in years, and that was due in no small part to this group of legislators,” said Dave Adkisson, Kentucky Chamber president and CEO. “From pension reform to education initiatives to industrial hemp legislation, they fought in unconventional ways for a positive business climate, and this is our way of saying ‘thank you’ to legislators who ‘go to bat’ for Kentucky businesses.”

In addition to monitoring the progress of bills that directly relate to the strength of the commonwealth’s business community, the Chamber tracks how each legislator votes on these bills. The Kentucky Chamber’s MVP award recipients displayed more than just a business-friendly voting record, but also went out of their way, and at times across party lines, to support or oppose an issue critical to the business climate in Kentucky. To see how these and other legislators voted on business issues during the 2013 Kentucky General Assembly, view the Chamber’s Results for Business publication at kychamber.com/results2013.

Kentucky Chamber MVPs

Sen. David Givens (R-Greensburg)

Sen. Paul Hornback (R-Shelbyville)

Sen. John Schickel (R-Union)

Sen. Robert Stivers (R-Manchester)

Sen. Damon Thayer (R-Georgetown)

Sen. Whitney Westerfield (R-Hopkinsville)

Rep. Robert Damron (D-Nicholasville)

Rep. Jim DeCesare (R-Rockfield)

Rep. Mike Denham (D-Maysville)

Rep. Jim Gooch (D-Providence)

Rep. Jeff Greer (D-Brandenburg)

Rep. Fitz Steele (D-Hazard)