Home » Murray State University names president

Murray State University names president

MURRAY, Ky. (March 12, 2014) — The Murray State University board of regents voted Wednesday, March 12, to confirm Dr. Robert (Bob) Davies as the university’s 13th president. Davies is currently the president of Eastern Oregon University. The vote was unanimous.

FLBB_MurrayStateLogo“We look forward to working with Dr. Davies. The entire campus will benefit from his passionate leadership. He has communicated a vision for Murray State University and we anticipate a warm welcome for Dr. Davies and his family,” said Dr. Constantine Curris, board chair, Murray State University.

Davies received a bachelor of science in management from the University of Nevada at Reno, a master of business administration in finance and marketing from the University of Oregon, and a Ph.D. in higher education administration from the State University of New York at Buffalo. Davies has been president of Eastern Oregon University since 2009.

Other positions served by Davies include vice president of university relations with Indiana University of Pennsylvania, associate vice president for alumni relations and development with State University of New York at Buffalo, and executive director of the alumni association with Boise State University.

Davies interviewed with university officials and constituency groups on Monday and Tuesday. Additionally, Davies and his spouse participated in an open public forum.

Davies’ contract, which is anticipated to officially begin July 14, 2014, will be finalized in the coming weeks.

The board honored Dr. Tim Miller, who has served as the interim president since July 2013, and officially recognized him as the 12th president of Murray State University.