Home » April 17 deadline to file and pay 2011 income taxes

April 17 deadline to file and pay 2011 income taxes

FRANKFORT, Ky. (March 19, 2012) – The Kentucky Department Revenue (DOR) reminds taxpayers that they will have a few additional days to file their taxes this year.

 The 2012 deadline is Tuesday, April 17, due to Emancipation Day, a holiday observed in the District of Columbia, which falls on Monday, April 16. By law, District of Columbia holidays affect tax deadlines in the same way that federal holidays do; therefore, all taxpayers will have two extra days to file or pay any taxes due this year.
All valid six-month extensions filed on or before April 17, 2011, will likewise extend the due date for filing a 2011 calendar year income tax return to Oct.15, 2012.
DOR encourages taxpayers and tax professionals to take advantage of convenient, safe electronic filing.
Since the beginning of the current tax season, over one million Kentuckians have already filed individual tax returns. Approximately 89 percent of those were filed electronically.  The average time for a refund to be issued on filed paper returns is four to six weeks. A refund request from an electronically filed return, however, is issued within seven to 10 days.
Additionally, taxpayers who owe with their returns and file electronically can request the additional tax due be automatically debited from their bank. Taxpayers can opt to have the tax due debited up to April 17 and avoid interest.
More than 1 million Kentucky taxpayers may be eligible to prepare and file their taxes electronically at no cost thanks to a public-private partnership called the Free File Alliance. To find out if you qualify, visit www.revenue.ky.gov.
All Kentucky income tax forms are available at www.revenue.ky.gov/forms or by calling 502-564-3658. Forms are also available at any of the 10 DOR field offices throughout the state. A list of field offices is available at www.revenue.ky.gov/aboutus/taxpayerservicecenters.htm.
DOR will honor recently announced Internal Revenue Service (IRS) special tax relief for taxpayers in the Presidential Disaster Areas who were victims of severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding that started on Feb. 29, 2012.
As of March 19, 2012, President Barack Obama has declared Bath, Campbell, Carroll, Grant, Grayson, Johnson, Kenton, Larue, Laurel, Lawrence, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Ohio, Pendleton, Rowan, Russell, Trimble and Wolfe counties federal disaster areas. Individuals who reside or have a business in these counties may qualify for tax relief.
The IRS is postponing certain tax deadlines for those taxpayers who reside or have a business in the disaster area. For instance, certain deadlines falling on or after Feb. 29, and on or before May 31, have been postponed to May 31, 2012.
This includes an extension of the April 17 deadline for filing 2011 individual income tax returns, making income tax payments and making 2011 contributions to individual retirement accounts (IRA).