Home » Legislators honored for supporting business community

Legislators honored for supporting business community

Kentucky Chamber gives out 10 MVP awards

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Sept. 15, 2014) — The Kentucky Chamber of Commerce honored 10 legislators with the 3rd Annual Chamber MVP Award. The legislators, who were recognized for their support of Kentucky’s business community during the 2014 Kentucky General Assembly, will be presented with commemorative Louisville Slugger bats during events in each of their local communities.

chamberThose awarded were: Sen. Jared Carpenter (R-Madison/Rockcastle counties); Sen. Julie Denton (R-Jefferson County); Sen. Dennis Parrett (D-Hardin County and part of Jefferson County); Sen. Whitney Westerfield (R-Christian, Logan, Todd counties); Sen. Mike Wilson (R-Warren County); Rep. Leslie Combs (D-Harlan, Letcher, Pike counties); Rep. Mike Denham (D-Bracken, Fleming, Mason counties); Rep. Jeff Hoover (R-Clinton, Pulaski, Hoover counties); Rep. Susan Westrom (D-Fayette); Rep. Brent Yonts (D-Christian, Hopkins, Muhlenberg)

In addition to monitoring the progress of bills that directly relate to the strength of the commonwealth’s business community, the Chamber tracks how each legislator votes on these bills. The Chamber’s MVP award recipients displayed more than just a business-friendly voting record, but also went out of their way, and at times across party lines, to support or oppose an issue critical to the business climate in Kentucky. To see how these and other legislators voted on business issues during the 2014 Kentucky General Assembly, view the Chamber’s Results for Business publication.