Home » Significant grants awarded to four Kentucky universities

Significant grants awarded to four Kentucky universities

Council on Postsecondary Education to distribute grants

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Nov. 24, 2014) — The Council on Postsecondary Education awarded $944,721 in federal grants to four lead campuses to improve P-12 educator quality at a recent meeting at the Leestown Campus of Bluegrass Community and Technical College.

Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education 2014 The University of Kentucky, Northern Kentucky University, Morehead State University and Murray State University will receive the Improving Educator Quality (IEQ) funds for seven research-based professional development projects.

Continuing last year’s focus, programs center on how to assist teachers in integrating the Common Core Standards, Next Generation Science Standards and related assessments in accelerated learning environments.

“Each of these partnerships brings together Kentucky’s K-12 teachers and postsecondary faculty to improve teaching. The more we improve teaching, the greater the impact will be on the college and career readiness of Kentucky students,” Council President Bob King said.

To be eligible, a partnership must include a postsecondary institution’s school of arts and sciences, its teacher preparation program and at least one high-need local school district.

The projects, lead institutions and grant awards are listed below.

  • Integrating Engineering in the Sciences, University of Kentucky: $130,000 – Year 2.
  • Project-Based Investigations on Improving Water Quality in the Kentucky River, University of Kentucky: $130,000 – Year 2.
  • Enriching Science Learning through Simulations and Interdisciplinary Problem-Solving, Murray State University: $99,000 – Year 2.
  • Designing Mathematics and Science Project-Based Environments: Spanning Astronomical and Atomic Spaces, University of Kentucky: $148,491.
  • Engineering Authentic Experiences in the Next Generation Science Classroom, Morehead State University: $149,999.
  • FLIP-EKY: Flipping Mathematics & Science Classrooms in Eastern Kentucky, Northern Kentucky University: $137,292.
  • STEM PRIDE, Partnering with Research, Industries to Develop (STEM) Educators for College and Career Readiness, University of Kentucky: $149,939.

In other business, the Council:

  • Authorized two capital projects—a $1.25 million athletics maintenance facility at the University of Louisville to be funded by the UofL Athletic Association and a $1.4 million volleyball facility at Morehead State University to be privately funded.
  • Approved three new degree programs—the Master of Science in nonprofit leadership studies at Murray State University, the Master of Science in environmental and occupational health science and the doctor of applied psychology at Western Kentucky University.
  • Presented resolutions for outstanding service for the following who have announced retirements: Dr. Michael McCall, KCTCS president; Dr. Linda Linville, senior policy advisor for research, development and health initiatives; Dr. Allen Lind, CPE vice president for innovation and e-learning; and Ms. Yvonne Lovell, CPE executive director for GearUp Kentucky.
  • Heard progress reports from Kentucky State University, Murray State University and the Kentucky Community and Technical College System.
  • Received the results of the Council agency audit that showed no findings or recommendations.

The Council heard the following reports: CPE President’s Report, Commissioner of Education Report, 2012-13 Accountability Report, strategic agenda planning, Dual Credit Work Team, Funding Model Steering Committee update, Committee on Equal Opportunities (CEO), State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement, and institutional reports were made available.

Chair Pam Miller appointed the following members to the 2016-20 Strategic Agenda Planning Committee: Dan Flanagan, Arnold Taylor, Sherrill Zimmerman, Maryanne Elliott, Joe Graviss and Donna Moore. To the Nominating Committee, Miller appointed Donna Moore, Joe Wise and Marcia Ridings. Student member Joshua Tunning was appointed to the Committee on Equal Opportunities.

The Council’s next meeting is set for Feb. 12-13 at the CPE offices, Frankfort.