Home » D.B. Wilson Station earns Governor’s Safety and Health Award

D.B. Wilson Station earns Governor’s Safety and Health Award

Worked more than 1.5 million hours without lost-time accident or illness

CENTERTOWN, Ky. (Dec. 5, 2014) — D.B. Wilson Station was presented with the Governor’s Safety and Health Award today by Deputy Secretary Rocky Comito. The honor recognizes the station’s approximately 100 employees for working 1,500,434 hours without a lost-time accident or illness.

big riverIncorporated in 1961, Big Rivers has earned 35 previous Governor’s Safety and Health Awards throughout the years. The corporation is a member-owned, not-for-profit, generation and transmission cooperative headquartered in Henderson. With nearly 600 employees, Big Rivers owns, operates and maintains a 1,285-mile transmission system, three generating plants and 22 substations.

The International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers(IBEW) Local 1701 represents the employees at Wilson Station. The national IBEW union traces its roots to the late 1800s, and is the oldest and largest electrical union in the world.

Big Rivers is owned by three distribution cooperative members: Jackson Purchase Energy Corp., headquartered in Paducah; Kenergy Corp., headquartered in Henderson; and Meade County Rural Electric Cooperative Corp., headquartered in Brandenburg. These member cooperatives deliver retail electric power and energy to more than 113,000 residential, commercial, and industrial customers in portions of 22 western Kentucky counties.

The Kentucky Labor Cabinet presents the award in recognition of outstanding safety and health performance. An establishment may qualify for the award if its employees together achieve a required number of hours worked without experiencing a lost-time injury or illness. The required number of hours is dependent upon the number of employees. In the case of Wilson Station, the requirement is 250,000.

Every establishment within the geographical boundaries of Kentucky is eligible, even if the establishment won the award the previous year. Eligibility is limited to one award during a 12-month period of time.