Home » Three Fayette County seniors among 2015 Presidential Scholar semifinalists

Three Fayette County seniors among 2015 Presidential Scholar semifinalists

LEXINGTON, Ky. (April 17, 2015) — Fayette County Public Schools has produced three of Kentucky’s eight semifinalists in the 2015 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program, one of the nation’s most prestigious honors recognizing high school students’ accomplishments. Congratulations to Taylor Bagley of Lafayette High School and Alice Li and Eric Xiong, both of Paul Laurence Dunbar High School. The winners will be announced in May.

This year, FCPS boasted 11 of Kentucky’s 68 candidates, including Lafayette’s Laura Briggs and Cody Leslie, Henry Clay High’s David Stevens and Karl Werner, and Dunbar’s Xiaowan Chu, Morgan Hopkins, Kristen Moore and Sahil Nair.

The Presidential Scholars are chosen based on their academic success, artistic excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, leadership and demonstrated commitment to high ideals. The group includes one young man and one young woman from each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and from U.S. families living abroad, as well as 15 chosen at-large and 20 U.S. Presidential Scholars in the Arts.

The scholars will connect with government leaders, educators, authors, musicians, scientists and others in Washington, D.C., as they grapple with global issues, volunteer for service projects, attend recitals and receptions, and tour area museums and monuments. Each student will also receive a Presidential Scholar Medallion in a June ceremony.