Home » Officers complete police supervision training

Officers complete police supervision training

20 officers graduated

RICHMOND, Ky. (May 22, 2015) — A total of 20 law enforcement officers from 18 agencies across the commonwealth were recognized Friday for completing the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training’s Academy of Police Supervision.

docAPS, also called the sergeant’s academy, is a three-week, 120-hour training program targeted for newly promoted sergeants or officers who are on their agency’s promotion list to become sergeants.

While in APS, students participate in classes focusing on the role of a supervisor, as well as leadership, resolving conflict, managing diversity, monitoring officer performance, professional image, legal issues for supervisors, ethics, interpersonal communication, effective written communication, making decisions, solving problems, managing critical incidents, public speaking, emotional survival, budgeting, media relations and others.

The graduating class is the 59th to complete APS since the program began in 2003.

APS is a stepping stone to DOCJT’s Kentucky Leadership Institute, which consists of a series of three progressive leadership courses aimed at developing and shaping future and current leaders in law enforcement agencies across the commonwealth.

APS Class 59 graduates and their agencies are:

  • Anthony J. Brown, Princeton Police Department
  • Cody Chapelle, Louisville Metro Police Department
  • Carrie A. Mroskey, Louisville Metro Police Department
  • Jeffrey W. Collett, Manchester Police Department
  • Tim Crowley, Florence Police Department
  • David N. Hampton, Kenton County Sheriff’s Office
  • Scott M. Harmon, Western KY University Police Department
  • Mitchell L. Walker, Western KY University Police Department
  • Kelly S. Hensley, Office of Attorney General
  • George J. Jetter, Jr., Shepherdsville Police Department
  • Brandon T. Jones, Radcliff Police Department
  • Henry I. Keene, Lebanon Police Department
  • Paul A. Kimberlain, Pikeville Police Department
  • Matthew Kremer, Erlanger Police Department
  • Kelly W. Mayfield, Franklin Police Department
  • Chris A. Ratcliff, Cold Spring Police Department
  • Walter Eric Scott, University of KY Police Department
  • Matthew L. Smith, Paducah Police Department
  • Nicholas Tabbert, Allen County Sheriff’s Office
  • Melvin J. Wright, Villa Hills Police Department