Home » Kentucky Law Enforcement Memorial Foundation awards 25 scholarships

Kentucky Law Enforcement Memorial Foundation awards 25 scholarships

For dependents and survivors of law enforcement officers killed in the line of duty

RICHMOND, Ky. (May 28, 2015) — A total of $30,000 in scholarships was awarded to 25 students across Kentucky by the Kentucky Law Enforcement Memorial Foundation. The Gerald F. Healy Kentucky Law Enforcement Memorial Foundation Scholarships were awarded to law enforcement officers’ dependents and survivors of officers killed in the line of duty. Officers’ dependents were awarded $1,000 toward the fall 2015 semester and officers’ survivors received $2,000.

lawThe scholarships help support students at 13 Kentucky colleges and universities, and one each in Ohio and Virginia.

Founded in 1999, The Kentucky Law Enforcement Memorial Foundation’s original purpose was to build a memorial that would honor all Kentucky officers who have been killed in the line of duty. Once the monument was completed in 2000, the organization expanded its efforts to include a financial endowment program, which helps Kentucky peace officers and their families with educational, medical and emergency relief.

In 2004, the foundation created this scholarship program to help law enforcement officers, dispatchers and their families pay for college. It is restricted to law enforcement officers and dispatch personnel (current, retired or disabled) and their survivors or dependents. The scholarships may be used at any accredited college or university, including two-year and community colleges and may also be used for attendance at recognized or certified vocational or trade schools. Students do not have to major in law enforcement or criminal justice to be eligible for the scholarship.

Fall 2015 semester Gerald F. Healy scholarship recipients are:

  • Callie Edrington of Lexington, University of the Cumberlands
  • Tony Jansen of Fort Thomas, Northern Kentucky University
  • Andrew Sticklen of Dover, University of Kentucky
  • Emily Sticklen of Dover, Northern Kentucky University
  • Katherine Thacker of Louisville, Liberty University
  • Samantha Ratliff of Virgie, Lindsey Wilson College
  • Kiersten Jackson of London, Eastern Kentucky University
  • Brandon Clark of Ashland, Georgetown College
  • Patrick Melton of Frankfort, University of Pikeville
  • Matthew Clark of Lawrenceburg, Eastern Kentucky University
  • Alexis Sumner of Hopkinsville, Hopkinsville Community College
  • Allison Myer of Mount Sterling, Morehead State University
  • Megan Schwartz of Walton, Morehead State University
  • Amy Nelson of Somerset, Eastern Kentucky University
  • Montanna Palmer of Winchester, Eastern Kentucky University
  • Christen Stewart of Shelbyville, Bellarmine University
  • Sgt. Christopher Heitzman of Erlanger, Eastern Kentucky University
  • Noelle Butts of Florence, Otterbein University
  • Mallory Butler of Villa Hills, Northern Kentucky University
  • Brennen Cabrera of Louisville, Kentucky School of Art
  • Seth Svebakken of Murray, Murray State University
  • Loren Roby of Mount Washington, Georgetown College
  • Nicole Bingham of Fisherville, University of Louisville
  • Chris Charles of Mount Sterling, Morehead State University
  • Kayla Hall of Cave City, University of Kentucky