Home » Lee County circuit court clerk suspended

Lee County circuit court clerk suspended

Investigation underway into possible official misconduct

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Aug. 3, 2015) — Lee County circuit court clerk Emma C. Adams has been suspended pending an investigation into possible official misconduct. Chief Justice of Kentucky John D. Minton Jr. suspended Adams today from performing any official duties for the court system.

Owsley County circuit court clerk A. Michael Mays will serve as special clerk for the Office of Lee County Circuit Court Clerk during the suspension. The office will continue to operate with normal business hours. The office is located in the Lee County Courthouse at 256 Main St. in Beattyville.

Circuit Court Clerks

Circuit court clerks are responsible for managing the records of Kentucky’s Circuit and District courts. Circuit clerks are constitutionally elected officials from all 120 counties and serve a six-year term. They provide professional recordkeeping, receive money due the courts, pay money to required parties and to the state, record legal documents, provide legal documents and other legal materials, maintain the jury system, administer oaths, handle affidavits and issue driver licenses and non-driver ID cards.

Administrative Office of the Courts

The AOC is the operations arm for the state court system and supports the activities of 3,300 court system employees and 403 elected justices, judges and circuit court clerks. As the fiscal agent for the state court system, the AOC executes the Judicial Branch budget.