Home » Louisville awarded 4-STAR Community Rating

Louisville awarded 4-STAR Community Rating

First Kentucky city honored with sustainability certification

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (Aug. 3, 2015) — Mayor Greg Fischer announced today that Louisville was awarded a 4-STAR Community Rating for sustainability excellence. Louisville is the first city in Kentucky to achieve certification under the STAR Community Rating System.

louisville“This award speaks volumes of the efforts to create a more sustainable Louisville,” said Fischer. “Being environmentally responsible impacts everything from economic development to improving the health of our citizens, and we are proud that these efforts have been recognized.”

Louisville is the 13th community in the nation to be recognized with a 4-STAR Community Rating out of nearly 100 communities actively using the STAR Community Rating System. Achieving this rating was a joint effort between Metro’s Office of Sustainability and the Louisville Sustainability Council (LSC) with collaboration from nearly 150 individuals and over 40 organizations that compiled and submitted data on the city’s sustainability practices and metrics.

“We are delighted to have participated in the certification program,” said Maria Koetter, director of the Office of Sustainability. “Receiving the 4-STAR Community Rating marks a milestone in achieving the city’s sustainability goals, as well as provides a roadmap for improvement as we work toward addressing weaknesses identified in the rating process.”

The STAR Community Rating System is the first national certification program to recognize sustainable communities. The STAR framework provides a clear, data-driven approach to assessing social, economic and environmental progress in seven sustainability focus areas:

  • Built Environment
  • Climate & Energy
  • Economy & Jobs
  • Education, Arts & Community
  • Equity & Empowerment
  • Health & Safety
  • Natural Systems

Louisville received 404 out of 800 points, scoring the highest in the Natural Systems, Health & Safety and Economy & Jobs categories. Communities can receive one of three STAR certification levels: 3-STAR Community (200-399 points), 4-STAR Community (400-599 points) and 5-STAR Community (600+ points). A third-party review ensures accountability and data validation.

For more information on the results of the submission, visit www.louisvillesustainabilitycouncil.org.