Home » Nature preserves photography contest announced

Nature preserves photography contest announced

Submissions accepted through Nov. 1

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Aug. 20, 2015) — The Kentucky State Nature Preserves Commission (KSNPC) is sponsoring a photography contest made up of five contest categories: plants, animals, insects, landscapes and people/miscellaneous.

Dog Slaughter Falls by John Collins
Dog Slaughter Falls at Daniel Boone National Forest (Photo by John Collins)

The contest is open now until Nov. 1. To enter the competition, take a photo while hiking a trail at a Kentucky State Nature Preserve and upload it the agency’s Flickr page.

The overall winner will receive a KSNPC staff autographed copy of “Kentucky’s Natural Heritage: An Illustrated Guide to Biodiversity” and recognition on KSNPC’s newsletter and social media pages.

Kentucky’s nature preserves:

  • Bad Branch (Letcher County)
  • John James Audubon (Henderson County)
  • Beargrass Creek (Jefferson County)
  • Kingdom Come (Letcher County)
  • Bissell Bluff WMA/SNA (Livingston County)
  • Logan County Glade (Logan County)
  • Blackacre (Jefferson County)
  • Lower Howard’s Creek (Clark County)
  • Blanton Forest (Harlan County)
  • Martin’s Fork WMA/SNA (Harlan County)
  • Blue Licks (Robertson County)
  • Metropolis Lake (McCracken County)
  • Boone County Cliffs (Boone County)
  • Natural Bridge (Powell County)
  • Brigadoon (Barren County)
  • Newman’s Bluff WMA/SNA (Livingston County)
  • Cascade Caverns (Carter County)
  • Pilot Knob (Powell County)
  • Cumberland Falls (McCreary, Whitley County)
  • Pine Mountain (Bell County)
  • Dinsmore Woods (Boone County)
  • Pine Mountain Trail (Harlan County)
  • Floracliff (Fayette County)
  • Quiet Trails (Harrison County)
  • James E. Bickford (Harlan County)
  • Tom Dorman (Garrard, Jessamine County)
  • Jesse Stuart (Greenup County)
  • Vernon-Douglas (Hardin County)
  • John B. Stephenson Memorial Forest (Rockcastle County)