Home » Oldham County educator named 2016 Kentucky Teacher of the Year

Oldham County educator named 2016 Kentucky Teacher of the Year

Ashley Lamb-Sinclair
Ashley Lamb-Sinclair

Frankfort, Ky. – An Oldham County teacher has been named the 2016 Kentucky Teacher of the Year.

Ashley Lamb-Sinclair is an English and creative writing teacher in the Oldham County school district. Ashland Inc. and the Kentucky Department of Education made the announcement today at a ceremony held at the Capitol Rotunda in Frankfort.

Joshua DeWar, a 2nd-grade teacher at Engelhard Elementary in Jefferson County, is the 2016 Elementary School Teacher of the Year. Karen Mallonee, a world language/Spanish teacher at College View Middle School in Daviess County, is the 2016 Middle School Teacher of the Year.

The three joined 21 other teachers from across the state honored with 2016 Ashland Inc. Teacher Achievement Awards.

Gov. Steve Beshear praised all of the achievement winners for their dedication, innovation, enthusiasm and ability.

“Jane and I would personally like to thank all the teachers recognized this year at the Teacher of the Year ceremony, and we congratulate this year’s winner for setting the bar on excellence in education,” Gov. Steve Beshear said. “Our teachers are a major part of Kentucky’s current momentum. They continue to partner with us as we improve our education programs that are preparing our young people for the increasingly high-tech jobs of the 21st century, and making Kentucky more competitive as companies seek out highly skilled, capable employees. Our future looks bright as we continue to raise our education standards and rankings, and we have our teachers to thank for our ongoing success.”

“Our most important assets in education are the teachers in the classrooms. These teachers honored here today represent the best of the best in Kentucky,” said Kentucky Education Commissioner Stephen L. Pruitt. “Even with tight resources and a continual push to make sure all students are ready for college and career, Kentucky’s teachers are proving high student achievement is possible.”

DeWar and Mallonee received $3,000 each and a customized, art-glass vase from Ashland Inc., while Lamb- Sinclair received $10,000 and a commemorative crystal-glass bowl. In addition, the Kentucky Department of Education will provide a sabbatical or suitable alternative for Lamb-Sinclair, who also will represent the state in the 2016 National Teacher of the Year competition. The remaining 21 winners each received $500 cash awards. All 24 teachers received framed certificates and were further recognized at a luncheon following the ceremony.

2016 Ashland Teacher Achievement Award Winners

  • Gina Beasley, Brooks Elementary, Bullitt County
  • Uealajean Crawford, Wyan-Pine Grove Elementary, Laurel County
  • Joshua DeWar, Engelhard Elementary, Jefferson County
  • Sarah Lockard, A.C. Glasscock Elementary, Marion County
  • Emily Lomax, Foster Traditional Academy, Jefferson County
  • Michelle McCloughan, T.C. Cherry Elementary, Bowling Green Independent Julie Moore, Wellington Elementary, Fayette County
  • Marcia Ward, A.B. Combs Elementary, Perry County
  • Tonya Artman, Crosby Middle, Jefferson County
  • Karen Mallonee, College View Middle, Daviess County
  • Natalie McCutchen, Franklin-Simpson Middle, Simpson County
  • Meredith Patton, Bullitt Lick Middle, Bullitt County
  • Rick Rafferty, Highlands Middle, Fort Thomas Independent
  • Corbin Snardon, Paducah Middle, Paducah Independent
  • Carmen Thompson, Elkhorn Middle, Franklin County
  • Lee Campbell, Knox Central High, Knox County
  • Cathy Conley, Knott County Central High, Knott County
  • Terrilyn Fleming, Central High Magnet Career Academy, Jefferson County
  • Ashley Lamb-Sinclair, North Oldham High, Oldham County
  • Tracy Lambert, Lafayette High, Fayette County
  • Carlos Pena-Rivera, Henry Clay High, Fayette County
  • Amanda Ratliff, Johnson Central High, Johnson County
  • Pennye Rogers, Todd County Central High, Todd County
  • J. Wes York, Caldwell County High, Caldwell County